My Brain Tumor AKA Prolactinoma

in #health6 years ago

Have you ever seen a baby after they finish breast feeding? They are kind of euphoric and high and at peace. Or maybe you have heard the term milk-drunk? In a sense I have been a drunk baby for the past decade and half and am now currently being flooded with hormone fluctuations like a 15 year old teenage girl at hyper speed.

This is my brain 7 years ago. No tumor. (Prolactinoma) Fast forward 7 years, I now have a prolactinoma. (images coming soon to a post near you)
Brain 20111.JPG
What the heck is a prolactinoma? By definition, a prolactinoma is a benign tumor (adenoma) of the pituitary gland that produces a hormone called prolactin. Prolactin stimulates the breasts to produce milk and has many other functions such as regulation of mood. It is treatable with medication that shrinks the tumor and then if that does not work or you can’t tolerate the medication surgery is the next step. Unfortunately, they often grow back over time.

I have had the condition Hyperprolactinemia for 15 years. I went to my OB in my 20’s concerned about Acne and within a couple of weeks I learned I had an endocrine condition called Hyperprolactinemia.

Typically, as I mentioned, my condition is caused by a pituitary tumor. However, my scans were clear until recently. I recall being terrified and anxious as we awaited the results 15 years ago and we relived that just a few weeks ago. When we heard I was clear 15 years ago, I went on medication for a little while to reduce my prolactin and then marriage, kids, breastfeeding, a fulltime career and just regular old life. This condition has not caused me any major awfulness over the past decade and half until the past 8 weeks. Bam. Life as I knew it spiraled. I mean who walks away from the news “you have a tumor in your head” all jolly and full of optimism even if it is benign? No. One.

I started off 2018 with this “get out of my own way” and seize the day outlook. (check out my posts, you will see) I miss that girl, and I want her back something fierce. The past 8 weeks I have suffered from anxiety, panic attacks, not being able to go out of my house and crying for hours for no situational reason. This is so uber not my norm. Like I said, a 15 year old girl’s hormones at Hyper speed. From the outside looking in I was having a nervous breakdown.

I started medication relatively recently and am hopeful I will “be me” again soon. It’s been a scary roller coaster of a ride thus far and I will be sure to share my tumor pictures as soon as I have them.

Do you know any one with a prolactinoma?

Sort:  

Dear @btwbyvw I am glad you have started taking Cabergoline tabs for the prescribed duration of time.
I have personally suffered from hyperprolactinemia mine actually had no cause but as soon as I started taking Bromocriptine a Prolactin antagonist med the level of prolactin in my blood reduced rapidly.
You shouldn't get so stressed out by this condition, therapy and prayers are gonna work just fine.
I am glad you went through my health post on Hyperprolactinemia, you are definitely going to have a normal brain without a prolactinoma.
You have me as a friend through this journey sis.
Much love from @eunireal1

bless you lady for your experience shared and your condition <3

@eunireal1 Thank you!! I so appreciate your kind words and your post. I need all the love, prayers, and friends I can get. ♥️

Our prayer is that normality be restored to your body and your life. Peace and good medicine to you!

Thank you ♥️

Vanessa, you are gradually getting back to your beautiful self!! Not having cycles for so long is making you go through some changes while the Cabergoline shrinks the tumor. Rest and feel better, my daughter! 😍

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Love and healing your way always

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63096.57
ETH 2954.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55