DIY - TOOTH POWDER (TO CLEAN AND REMINERALIZE)

in #health6 years ago (edited)

Wouldn't it be wonderful to flash your pearly whites without an expensive and regular visit to the dentist? As a rule I avoid doctors and dentists. Sure they have their place but I believe we are too quick to rely on the medical profession. Our health is our own responsibility. Strong, healthy and white teeth should not require dental intervention. Of course the state of our teeth is directly affected by the state of our gut. I hope to share with you some delicious recipes which will help nourish, heal and populate your digestive system with good bacteria. Fermented foods and drinks are just one way of introducing probiotics which, indirectly heals mouth decay. While diet and DNA have a strong influence on our health - that includes the condition of our teeth - how we clean our teeth is also important. The remineralizing tooth powder I'm going to share with you is A.M.A.Z.I.N.G!

How do I know this? Because my long-suffering husband is also brutally honest when it comes to what he calls my experiments. He will sometimes flat out refuse to do another test run on a particular recipe that I'm trying. Not only does he actually like this tooth powder, but he refuses to use anything else! If you want to skip on down to the recipe go ahead. But if, like me, you read all the labels, let me tell you why I use the few powerful ingredients in the tooth powder.

BENTONITE CLAY: There are a number of different clays used today. Clay can be taken internally or externally. Their applications vary from anti-parasitic to healing skin allergies, tummy bugs, even making poultices for burns or bites. I love diatomaceous earth to treat our animals. For home use I like both bentonite and zeolite (although I prefer green clay in soap making). Bentonite clay binds and removes heavy metals and toxins. At the same time is also alkalizes. Bentonite clay is rich in minerals; including silica, calcium, magnesium and potassium.

BICARB/BAKING SODA: is also an excellent alkalizer. Because of its mildly abrasive nature baking soda gently removes stains and build-up on teeth.

HIMALAYAN SALT: Salt is commonly known to be an antiseptic. Use a good salt (not your average table salt) which has a vast array of trace minerals, which is important in tooth powder.

CINNAMON: is high in anti-bacterial properties while also having a lovely flavour. The antimicrobial effects of cinnamon prevents tooth decay and reduces bad breath.

NEEM: What's not to love about this uniquely flavoured herb!? Neem is excellent for sensitive skin and teeth. It heals inflammation and gum disease. It is also used to treat and prevent cavities as well as plaque build-up. Neem helps whiten teeth.

PEPPERMINT OIL: Well known for it's fresh taste and smell, this potent herb has antiseptic properties as well as being a wonderful tonic for digestive disorders.

VARIATIONS:
Exchange the cinnamon powder for powdered cloves (which helps for tooth ache and infection). Replace the peppermint oil with lemon essential oil (also zesty while having antibacterial properties) or replace the neem oil with tea tree (both have an acquired taste).

TOOTH POWDER RECIPE
4 tablespoons Bentonite Clay (I used zeolite today)
2 tablespoons Bicarbonate of Soda (Baking Soda for Americans)
1 tablespoon Cinnamon (non irradiated, preferably organic)
1 tablespoon Salt (I only use Himalayan)
15 drops Neem oil
20 -30 drops Peppermint oil
Mix all ingredients well. Keep in sealed jar and dip dry toothbrush in to use. Brush as normal. It's that simple!

There is no hard and fast rule for making this tooth powder. For more sensitive teeth decrease the baking soda and salt. For stained teeth occasionally add a little activated charcoal. I'm not saying this is the cure all for tooth problems. In the coming months I will share my experience and recipes for restoring gut health, and thereby the health of your mouth. For years I made toothpaste but this tooth powder impressed even me! And I look forward to your feedback.

Sort:  

My cousins use tooth powders. But I also heard recently that as mild as the baking soda is, it is still too harsh on teeth.

So now I am a bit cautious. I would be courious to see a side by side test done on baking soda and normal "Crest" toothpaste.

I want to avoid the chemicals, but want to protect my teeth as well.

Thanks! <3 <3

Yes, I think a few people are nervous about the baking soda. You can always eliminate it. According to an old health dentist I once knew, a lot of our teeth problems are incorrect or too hard brushing.

Thanks for the great recipe! I have been looking to start making my own tooth paste again. -Aimee

It's fantastic! I made the toothpaste (with coconut oil) for years but this is my favourite

I did the coconut oil base too but learned that it's really hard on drain pipes. We had a build up issue in our drain for a while then learned it's not great for city pipes because it solidifies so easily and can cause build ups. We founds a natural toothpaste that we like but it's expensive. We tend to alternate with just using plain baking soda to keep costs reasonable. -A

That's why I stopped oil pulling (unless you spit into a patch of dirt ;)

Look at my smart sister been all smart like that.. Re-mineralize... gotta try it, been taking all sorts of things from homemade calcium (eggs shells) to hydrolized gelatin.. to no avail :( guess I need to try this eh !!!

It's amazing stuff. Inexpensive to make and really works. And your teeth will feel like they've had a holiday.

Great blog! Doing things the natural untamped way - No chemicals, radiation, processing etc - has got to be the the most healthy way! You are also helping people help themselves I look forward to some more blogs like this my child! Love you

This is excellent - may I link this article and feature your username @buckaroo in the next issue of the Weekly Homesteading Newsletter? It would be great for the DIY section. Please let me know, thanks!

Oh yes please! That'll be great. It's really easy to make and such a yummy tooth powder

Awesome thanks! I'll send you a link when it is published next Sunday!

Thanks for such an informative article. Great pics, too!

Thanks for sharing this recipe, I like how the ingredients are close to nature and not synthetic.

I have access to plenty of herbs, but they are pretty tough tasting, like wormwood tough.

Exactly! And it's so versatile. To think wormwood can be addictive...

Thanks for the great info. We will try this

Enjoy! It's like giving your mouth a spa

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95