Organic Rubber Mattress Review

in #health6 years ago (edited)


Have you ever bought or went shopping for an organic mattress? Aimee and I did and after a fair bit of research and some luck, ended up buying an organic rubber mattress. In this video we review our mattress after sleeping on it for a full year. Since the video was made, we have slept on it for more than an additional year. Even after moving out of the tiny house, not only are we are still using this mattress, we also agree with our original assessment which you'll hear in the video.

sausageWhen I picked the rubber mattress up from the store it was super compressed and rolled up like a sausage! This made moving it rather easy. Don't let the size rolled up fool you though. It weighs about 90 lbs and is super awkward to move when it's unrolled.

One of our goals in building the tiny house was to create an environment that would be mostly free of toxic chemicals like VOC's. We didn't want to go through all the effort to build with chemical free materials only to lay down for eight hours every night on a mattress that was off gassing the very compounds we were trying to avoid. Luckily, the mattress we chose perfectly fits the bill of a non-toxic alternative.


The following are screen shots from the Sleeptek website and describe the materials the mattress is made from and their benefits.

kids mattress

organic rubber

rubber two

cotton

wool


Both Aimee and are impressed with this mattress. We have been using it without a box spring which is one of the benefits to this type product. I give it a C for comfort which isn't a knock against it. I probably should have just gone with a medium firm mattress rather than a medium. Aimee thinks the mattress is an A for comfort.


logo


Thanks for reading everyone! Please upvote, follow, and resteem to support this work. As always, comments are welcome.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

We just returned our Casper foam mattress(60 day trial). I wish it had been for VOC concerns...but it was because it just wasnt firm enough. I think I sound like you Matthew, needing something with a bit more support. Do you feel it is weak in your lower back area? That is where I felt like it didnt provide enough support.

Glad to hear your experience is going well!

Peace

Yeah that is mainly where I feel it. It isn't terrible but definitely a bit of stiffness in the mornings.

I didn't know about rubber mattresses until now. I have my own garden. I love organic things and natural remedies. Thanks for sharing. I'm Oatmeal.

I'm Matthew, nice to meet you!

I just heard there was an organic mattress, do you mean a mattress from cotton? we sleep on cotton mattresses, but it's not healthy, because cotton dust can cause congestion, unless we replace it once a month, so now we wear a foam mattress, I'm not sure if it is dangerous or not

Our mattress is made of natural rubber and the cover is made of organic wool and cotton. Organic means that the cotton plants were not sprayed with chemicals. Also the cotton was not treated with chemicals.during the manufacturing process.

oh then my mattress is semi-organic, because my cotton is natural, but the cotton cloth is made by chemical process (using chemicals)

I love our organic latex mattress .. so comfortable!

I'm glad you enjoy it!

I used the mattress for so long, but never thought about his health, you are very careful, I will try to use cotton mattress (ie cotton that is inserted into the fabric), but I have to keep it up to be a dust of dust, ha ha ha ,,
thanks for the information

Yes the cover should be washed regularly.

thank you very much for the input

Well that's new to me, but that's Awesome! I imagine they would hold the original shape much much longer than a "memory" foam one, which always loose shape over a few weeks lol. Plus the health side to it of course is fantastic!
This post actually made me think about what you say about laying 8 hours on non organic materials.. I wonder if roll mats exist of these, like camping mats..

That would be nice. I have no idea if something like that is available.

Congratulations @canadianrenegade! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61763.08
ETH 2899.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49