You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Money Can Buy Happiness: Buy Time and Be Happier

in #health7 years ago

I'm pretty happy doing mundane work most of the time TBH, it gives me an opportunity to do mindfulness techniques. Also some tasks, like cooking, are very enjoyable to me. I'm very grateful for labour saving devices like washing machines and dishwashers though. And there are certain tasks I hate doing that I am happy to pay for...like going through a car wash rather than washing my own car, which I really don't enjoy doing. Also, a lot of times I feel weird about paying someone else to do something unpleasant...what if they hate what they are doing? How does that affect their happiness? Maybe they enjoy their jobs though, but they are not likely to tell you!

Sort:  

Yeah, I'm not bothered too much, and yes the mind is from from doing other thinking tasks and can think or be inspired with new thoughts and creativity. I do my own dishes, it's not so bad. I find washing machines waste a lot of water.

If someone else does something they don't like like you don't like it, but they are getting paid, that's their choice to it for money, while you would not be getting money to do it lol. Thanks for the feedback.

While I've enjoyed your post very much, I'm not quite comfortable with you talking like this about washing machines!!! My washing machine works very hard and saves me a lot of time so I don't ask how much water it uses.
Otherwise, I do believe in spending money to get free time. A few years ago I had a cleaning lady and she did a wonderful job, but then I decided I don't really need her and can save the money for other stuff, generally enjoyable stuff.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69279.36
ETH 3870.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73