(Health Related) A Different Perspective On Life

in #health7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit friends!



I've been on an incredible journey these past few years yet three years ago I can still remember every minute.

Personality-less, I remember sitting there thinking "well this will all just end one day" without any thought or plan of when.

I naively assumed that someone would be there to save the day and boy was I wrong. I was penny-less, friendless and homeless sleeping in my old car at the time without a penny to spare on gas.

Yet I still remember thinking to myself, alright it's time to start the day, as long as I can get my next hit everything in the world is good.

Everything is great...right?

This thought process slowly began to degrade as winter came around, and money started going straight to gas that was only used for trips to pickup my substance of choice.

Keep in mind, this is January Northeastern US, it was COLD. And yet, I still fought the wrong fight. Still did every single thing in my will power to make it until the next fix, minute by minute, second by second.

In addition to this, a life-changing (in multiple senses of the word) blizzard was heading straight for us, there was a state of emergency, and I was completely out of cash.

WARNING

I had the bright idea of showing up at a hospital, and begging them to stay as though my life depended on it.

At this point, you may be asking yourself..well why didn't you just go to a homeless shelter?

The answer to that was the deciding factor for most of my emotion-fueled decisions - a false sense of pride.

It's funny because if you were to see photos of me back then all of 100 lbs. soaking wet, hair that wouldn't suit a dog yet there I was. I couldn't look myself in the mirror but I could explain to you in 6 different languages why I am better than a homeless shelter. What a joke.

Luckily that hospital trip lead to a brief moment of clarity.

After a few months of what could be best described as neurosis I managed to take things day-by-day, and had real structure in my life.

I managed to see through it, and after 2 years 5 months and 9 days I couldn't be more grateful for it all. I wouldn't take back a single thing, as it led me exactly where I needed to be.

And now? Now I'm the Co-Founder of a local Digital Marketing Agency, aspiring YouTube sensation, husband, and father to a beautifully menacing little baby girl.

I owe everything I have today to a person much greater than myself, and to a beautiful fellowship called Alcoholics Anonymous.

If any of you Steemians out there are also friends of Bill, don't be afraid to reach out!


Sort:  

Great post. You got my upvote :D

Hey, good luck on your journey in our fine community! I'll follow your account to see how you doing :). Please follow me @nakedchef89.

Inspiring post...

Really inspiring post, thanks for sharing! #keepsteemin

Congratulations @charlesjay! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

. I believe we will enjoy and have amazing time here to collaborate and learn for other members through writing.
I will be looking up to you sharing words of knowledge and wisdom. Please stay tuned for my write-ups and please follow me @yash0108

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62875.98
ETH 2948.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55