You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Healing Forward Head Posture

in #health6 years ago

If I may add a few things that helped me a lot.

Esther Gokhale's book.
https://www.amazon.com/Steps-Pain-Free-Back-Solutions-Shoulder/dp/0979303605

Talks about how to sit, how to stand, how to walk, how to lay, etc. Once you get that, you can start applying it 24/7 instead of the usual "do these shitty exercises with a rubber bands twice a day" that physiotherapists prescribe. NO ONE DOES THOSE. haha

The one thing I would caution about her approach is that she OCDs on neurtral spine. Make sure you do plenty of mobility exercises during your day to make sure you keep a healthy spine :)

Final thing I'd say is that to position your pelvis (the "first/huge/ vertebrae) simply squeeze your glutes. Instead of over thinking it, just squeeze dat ass and voila, pelvis aligned and ready to stack the rest on top. This is from Kelly Starret's book Becoming A Supple Leopard.

Sort:  

Well damn. I couldn't see the first video you linked (didn't load) It's Esther's TED talk haha.
Anyway her book is awesome.

I liked your link @cob because I didn't really understand the pelvis position as stated in the post. Can't wait for the book to arrive. I really suffer from this. My head is always forward and I get a lot of shoulder pain from sleeping.

Healing upper crossed syndrome, forward head posture and forward shoulders

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 70976.53
ETH 3850.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48