Essential Oils That Are WAY More Effective Than You Think, Contributed by @sharingeverybite

in #health6 years ago

Are you an essential oil skeptic? I was too at one time. But thankfully, a good friend of mine convinced me that I needed to buy a dozen of them and since then, oils have become part of my daily life. They come to the rescue in SO many situations.

pexels-photo-433626.jpeg

New shoes giving you a blister? Essential oil. Can’t fall asleep? Essential oil. Work is stressing you out? Essential oil. Well, you get the point. Today I’m going to be sharing three varieties of oils that are way more effective than you’d probably believe.

Melaleuca Alternifolia (AKA Tea Tree Oil)


Of all essential oils, I’m sure you’ve heard of this potent one, especially by its informal name, tea tree oil. It can be found in all sorts of bath and body products these days, from your basic shampoo to post-piercing healing creams.

In it’s unrefined, virgin form, it’s incredibly potent. In fact, it’s considered a “hot” oil because it can feel like it’s burning your skin with just one undiluted drop. When using it, you always need to mix it with a carrier oil like olive, almond, or coconut oil to prevent discomfort.

When is it most effective?

  • New wounds
  • Ingrown or hang nails
  • Acne
  • Certain fungal infections

Citronella


This is the oil that actually inspired me to write this post. We’re here in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico where the mosquitoes are extremely prevalent. I am one of those people who attract the little buggers from miles away while everyone else remains bite-free.

pexels-photo-169357.jpeg

Currently playing connect-the-dots with my bug bites.

When/how it’s most effective?

Citronella oil seems to work best when added to a diffuser. You just need a few drops for a medium-sized space. We’re sitting outside (in the open air) on a patio as I write this post with a diffuser running and there isn’t a flying bug in site.

It doesn’t seem that topical application is quite as effective, or perhaps it just doesn’t have longevity like other oils do. Anyone know which?

Peppermint


The minty freshness of peppermint essential oil really can’t be beat. It’s definitely in my top three of favorite oils of all time. Why? Oh, man, where do I begin? There are just so many great uses for it!

pexels-photo-214165.jpeg

Like tea tree oil, make sure to dilute it with a carrier oil to prevent “burns” as it is also considered a “hot” oil.

When is it most effective?

  • Headache relief (diluted and applied directly to your scalp and inhaled after rubbing a drop between your hands)
  • Giving you energy (breathe it in directly from the bottle or add a few drops to a diffuser)
  • Period cramp relief (applied with a carrier oil to your stomach/uterus area)
  • Muscle pain (applied with a carrier oil to the problem areas)

Hope you found this useful! If you don’t have essential oils, I recommend getting a starter kit from YoungLiving, a company I purchase from and trust. Nope, I don’t sell them and do not have a referral link for you. Just a friendly suggestion from a gal who loves them!

What are your favorite essential oils?

Share in the comments below.

Sort:  

It works against few diseases.Very beneficial for human health.

Nice post! I have my oil diffusers on all the time, they are so beneficial don't know what I'd do without them!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Very good post, and I agree that the oils are excellent, I take the opportunity to comment that last year a research work was carried out with an ozonized corn oil, to treat the superficial fungal infections produced by different Candida and the results obtained they were excellent

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70130.51
ETH 3786.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78