You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why You Should Spend More Time Outside

in #health6 years ago

I think I've read somewhere (I couldn't find the article) that people who were spending most of their time with nature would have an increased intellectual capacity, compared to if they were living in the city. It's pretty much unknown how much can nature affect the brain but I know in general, an increase in physical activity can pose a significant effect on the brain health in some way (Source). I think it is reasonable to think that, people who were spending most of their time in nature would have moved a lot compared to people who were living in the city.

Sort:  

I think that is a reasonable assumption. I recently saw a little clip on TV. They were tracking the steps of people living in a city and in a village. Ironically people in the city got in more steps because they could get to more places on foot.
We had a discussion in our physiology class a while ago about how physical activity could impact the brain. I think we concluded that physical activity enhances the efficiency with which our brain detoxes (by moving of the liquid surrounding our brain). There’s still a lot to be learned here. Thank you for your comment! Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62980.19
ETH 3123.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87