Why I Haven’t Been Ill in over 3 Years and How You Can Do It Too

in #health5 years ago

Every year of my life before not too long ago I had a cold/flu at least once a year and this could affect me for weeks at a time.

That means I  would be missing out on the full potential of a few weeks a year. I hate losing time. Time is a resource that you will never get back.

Thankfully I haven’t had this problem for the past 3 years and you don’t have to either.

Here's how I did it.

1. Following your dreams

Being in alignment with what you want has been the most important factor in me not being ill.

When I graduated from Uni I worked in an accounting firm which I did not like.

I did not like being there, I do not like how I felt afterwards.

There was a lot of staff room drama and negative people around the workplace. Utterly draining. Sitting in front of a desk for 8 hours didn’t help either.

I didn’t feel like I had the freedom to do what I wanted and this broke down my psyche and that definitely affects your immune system.

I manage my family hotel now and I am grateful for that. I get my own freedom through that which I feel is something I’ve always wanted.

I get to interact with people, stay moving and workout more often. I also get to work on conscious movement when it is quiet.

All round it feels much better.

2. Alcohol Consumption

I completely stopped drinking alcohol for a while ( read here if you want to know why ) straight after I graduated from University.

I do drink now but very rarely and not to the extent I did before.

It is a depressant and a poison that negatively affects your immune system.

How do you feel after a weekend of drinking? or the day after? Not very well right.

All that alcohol makes you more susceptible to germs and bacteria.

According to one study, your immune system gets weakened within 20 minutes of drinking alcohol and too much inhibits the function of white blood cells lowering your resistance to infection.

3. Water Consumption

This is a major key to staying healthy and having no flu or colds.

Ever since I started taking fitness and exercise seriously. Water has been my drink of choice and there is nothing that compares to it.

I used to dislike water and fizzy drinks/ juice used to make up a lot of my diet.

Staying hydrated with water enables your body to flush out toxins and remove waste that is harmful to your immune system.

It oxygenates your blood which makes sure all your cells work and function properly.

Water also helps in the production of Lymph which is a fluid that picks up bacteria and moves it to the lymph nodes where they are destroyed.

Without water, you can’t function correctly.If you’re getting ill often not drinking enough water could be the main reason why.

4. Avoiding the News

It is scientifically proven that your thoughts affect how healthy your cells are.

The news is basically full of negativity and fear mongering. Stay away from that and the healthier you will be.

One study found that people who scored low on positive emotions were three times more susceptible to a virus.

We can all choose to have a more positive mindset and the more we practice the better we can get at it.

So turn off that news channel in the background. Your body will thank you for it.

5. Diet

A healthy diet is massively important to your physical and mental health.

The primal blueprint and other resources have helped my diet change for the better.

Measures such as cutting out unhealthy snacks, fast food and sugar whilst adding in more vegetables and fruit.

You need to be getting the proper nutrients and vitamins from proper sources to keep your immune system in check.

6. Exercise

I exercise consistently.Once a day minimum. Sometimes even twice. It is my number one passion. Movement.

Hence the brand conscious movement it combines everything I love into one.

Exercise has been consistent for me in the last 3 years and I am pretty sure this has helped me stay illness free for that time.

Physical activity helps flush out bacteria out of your lung and airways and also causes your antibodies and white blood cells to circulate quicker enabling your body to detect illnesses sooner.

7. Less Sugar

I eat like no sugar anymore. I never drink fizzy drinks. No sweets. No chocolates. I’m that guy that gets the fruit with the meal deals you get at the supermarket (yes we exist).

The only time I treat myself is when I’m out with friends. I give myself that leeway but in general, my sugar intake is super low.

The effect eating or drinking sugar on the immune system is that it can reduce the ability of white blood cells to kill germs by forty percent and this can last for five hours. Crikey.

8. Meditation

Meditation has become a keystone habit in my life for the past 3 years.

At a minimum, I meditate 3 times a week and most weeks every single day. It just doesn’t feel right when I don’t meditate for a long period of time.

Meditation decreases your stress levels and your immune system is more easily compromised when your stress levels surge.

It also increases the amount antibodies in your body a recent study has shown which fight flu and other infections. 

Website: http://consciousmovement.org
Steemit: @conscmovement
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/conscious.movement
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/consciousmovement.org
Twitter: https://twitter.com/consc_movement   

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69626.36
ETH 3667.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82