My Natural Remedy Routine for When I Start Feeling Sick

in #health5 years ago

IMG_3868.PNG


Hi Friends,

I'm afraid that I've been fighting getting sick the last few days - but I honestly think I would be much worse right now if it weren't for all of the natural remedies I've been trying. That being said, when I was voice texting @anomadsoul earlier today about @steemonboarding stuff - he said I sounded like a grandpa. #accurate.

So instead of filming a vlog today and subjecting you all to that - I thought I'd share all the different things I've been trying to keep this sickness from progressing any further.

At work, nearly the entire office (about 100 people) have been out sick at some point the last few weeks, and I thought I had narrowly escaped it - but going to work is like walking into a petri dish, so I'm not overly surprised.

I'm almost glad that I got sick over the weekend, so that I can take it easy and really spend time cycling through all of these different remedies. Here's a list of my natural remedy routine for when I start feeling sick.


Fire Cider aka Witch's Brew



fireciderf.jpg

I have friends that make this homemade concoction that they gift out to friends when they start feeling sick. It is not for the faint of heart! They basically take a mixture of ingredients like raw garlic, onion, habanero peppers and who knows what else and let it soak in apple cider vinegar for a few weeks before straining and bottling it up.

They recommend taking a spoonful of it daily, but to up that to every few hours if you are sick. I've been taking shots of this stuff every few hours today, and I honestly think it's helping to knock this out.

If you are already starting to feel sick, this remedy won't help you because it takes a few weeks to prepare. Since we are in flu season though - it might be worth getting a batch going in case you do get sick! It lasts for quite a while in the cupboard.


Tea and Honey


teahoney.jpg

I personally love the Yogi Throat Coat tea when I have inflammation of my throat or congestion. Add a little extra honey to make it even more soothing.

This honey was actually made from my uncle's bees! I drive up to Whiterock, BC to have dinner with him a few weeks ago and he sent me home with a jar from their harvest last summer. It's pretty wild because they live in home that is on a cliff side - so not a lot of room for bees. He actually installed the hives on the roof of the house!


Detox Baths



detoxbath.jpg

Depending on what you are sick with - a quick google search should help show you which ingredients will be beneficial for that particular illness. For me, I went with an epsom salt, baking soda and eucalyptus soak.


Homeopathy



homeopathy.jpg

Hitting illness early with homeopathy can make a huge difference. I'm lucky to live close to a health foods store where the employee working the wellness counter can usually help guide me to which items will help address my symptoms best.

I've been taking this congestion relief throughout the day and it seems to be helping. I usually like to take Zinc as well when I'm getting sick - regardless of the illness.


Take a Nap



nap.jpg

Few things can ease the healing process more than sleep. So I enjoyed a nice nap on the couch today and will be getting to bed early to make sure I get lots of rest. In fact, many people I know say they get sick when they have been overworking themselves and it's almost like their bodies way of telling them to slow down and get some rest!


Vitamin C Packets



vitc.jpg

Nothing helps zap an illness in it's steps like a hefty dose of vitamin c. You have to be careful not to overdose, but usually 1-2 of these packets a day won't be too bad. Vitamin c is one of those remedies that you can try no matter what you are coming down with.

I always bring some with me when I travel, and they actually came in handy at Steemfest! My roommate @jayna was starting to feel sick and so I gave her one. After taking that - she felt totally fine and as far as I know - didn't end up getting sick!


Gargle Warm Salt Water (For Sore Throats)



salt.jpg

Although I detest this one because it makes me want to gag, I do really feel like it helps. If you have a soar throat or congestion - research has shown that it can reduce swelling in the throat and help flush out bacteria and irritants.


Go For a Walk



walk.jpg

Although all I feel like doing is laying on the couch... forcing myself to get outside and walk actually felt really good. Although I'm not totally sure if there is science supporting this - but I feel like the combination of getting some fresh air and getting the blood circulating can only help.


Don't Forget the Whiskey


IMG_3863.jpg

Although I've heard conflicting reports on the effectiveness of hot toddy's for congestion/sore throats - I also have friends that swear by it. I'm not ruling out any potential home remedies - and so it's what I'm sipping while I write this post!


Cheers to Health



I hope you are all staying nice and healthy wherever you are! On the chance that you get sick though - I hope that you find some of these tips helpful! I've literally been doing all of these things today in an effort to keep this thing from progressing. Wish me luck!

What do you guys think? What other remedies would you add to the list?

Xo, Lea

Sort:  

Great guide.
You should use vitamins on a daily basis to prevent getting sick.
So, Vitamin C Packets are cool, but use vitamins, C,D etc every day!

My mom would always rub my chest with Vicks VaporRub for congestions and also warm milk with ginger to sleep. I personally take a gallon of orange juice everywhere to get that Vitamin C in as well!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Those are all great suggestions! Well, I’m not sure about the whiskey. But those vitamin C and zinc drinks are amazing. I never get sick because I always take those right away if I feel even a twinge if a sore throat, and they zap it! I was so happy you brought some to Krakow and were willing to part with some. You saved my butt, Nurse Coruscate! Detox baths are really effective. Glad you mentioned that one!

that is a really good formula you showed. more less a cure for the illness. i liked how you showed the step by step progress on this. very helpful. just resteem this for you. more people need to learn

Awesome health remedies.
I have been using essential oils for a while now and they are keeping the sicknesses away which is awesome and I also start using more if it when I feel something is coming up, and that usually solves the problem.

Love the lemon tea and honey remedy since I also use it and it tastes so good.

Hope you will feel better soon.

Wow sounds amazing all these remedies! I’m gonna save this for later!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @coruscate! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 650 posts. Your next target is to reach 700 posts.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Loading...

Sorry to hear you're feeling ill.

I do much the same, although TBH since I quit work I haven't got sick, funny that!

Having said that I did feel a bit wiped out yesterday a.m., but I still got up and did my park run, then slept for a couple of hours and then got a good 10 hours last night!

I feel much better now, so sleep, almost certainly the most important thing!

Get well soon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93