You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My SIBO Story (part 1) - What is SIBO & How it has Effected Me

in #health5 years ago

You really have done an insane amount of research! I am glad to have had this refresher course on the mechanics of SIBO. I can't seem to find a definitive answer on whether Kombucha is good for this condition or not. The internet is a difficult place to do research after realizing even your functional doctor is a complete quack. The stuff seems to be helping in some ways. Will be interested in seeing updates on how the Ele(mental) diet is working for you...going crazy in the process seems like the hardest part. Our gut health is important to be full body healthy in a lot of unexpected ways...and just now we are discovering how much.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Hi @creativesoul

All the research I've done seems to suggest that probiotics are not a good idea until you've killed the overgrowth. So, after treatment, and a successful negative breath test, some practitioners seem to suggest that you take probiotics, but certain ones, not the traditional lactobacillus acidophilus which is in so many supplements. I'm not sure if that is in Kombucha but I suspect it might be.

The probiotic that I've heard mentioned over and over as helping with IBS (which is so often actually SIBO) is bifidobacterium infantis. But, having said that, this study I found seems to suggest that it helps decrease Hydrogen prevalent SIBO, but increases Methane prevalent SIBO. It is such a complex thing, and it's liek hitting a needle in a haystack finding what works for you. I have heard theories that good bacteria can out-compete the bad if supplemented after a successful kill phase, so my guess is that it works for some and not for others. That has been the one constant I've seen on the internet, different things work for different people and the doctors, functional or traditional, don't know why.

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/29397491

The stuff seems to be helping in some ways. Will be interested in seeing updates on how the Ele(mental) diet is working for you...going crazy in the process seems like the hardest part.

but it looks like you're saying that you're using Kombucha and it's helping? Are you diagnosed with SIBO? Or just taking it generally for gut health or to relieve more generalized symptoms? Whatever the case, I'm glad it's helping you :)

Thanks for checking out my post

Will be interested in seeing updates on how the Ele(mental) diet is working for you...going crazy in the process seems like the hardest part.

Ha ha, yes staving off food cravings and boredom are going to be hard.... and dealing with the bacterial die-back when it starts. Lot's of baths and meditation to try and relax as much as possible when those little buggers start to try and poison me 😅

I have been diagnosed with SIBO...after being misdiagnosed with Celiac Disease and then IBS for over eight years total. I still get severe reactions to wheat and gluten...but can't figure if that's an allergy or related to the SIBO or something else. Since winter...I have been on my own trying to figure out how to cure this stomach monster. The last thing the SIBO doctor told me...is that if no negative reaction or symptoms occur keep doing them. And I love kombucha anyway. Not the most rational way to go about it...because sometimes you just don't know about the deeper effects. The die back is brutal...maybe you can listen to audiobooks?

Posted using Partiko Android

@creativesoul: You write that you get severe reactions to wheat and gluten...An important thing to keep in mind here is that ALL kinds of wheat (yes, even the ancient spelt) are GMO. There's almost no getting around it. Gluten allergies are something quite new, and I blame it on that fact. Personally, I've had a lot of issues with wheat products (it's very hard to get away from) and eliminated it from our diet completely about a year ago. I've replaced it with non-wheat products and our lives have been much better for it.

If it is working, yeah definitely keep on doing it :-) At the end of the day, it could be that you are one of the people where putting lots of probiotics into the system is allowing them to out compete the bad bacteria. But I'm just guessing. I also love Kombucha but it is a no no for me at the moment.

The die back is brutal...maybe you can listen to audiobooks?

Ha ha, yes I'm one step ahead on that one as I have 4 Sci-Fi audiobooks lined up and until it gets really bad plenty of netflix series and a new computer game.... so hopefully boredom won't be quite as bad ;-)

It would be awesome to be one of those people that can get better with competing bacteria. Time will tell!

Glad to see you have plenty of things to keep you distracted and you won't be bored! ❤ 🤗 🙏

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62397.62
ETH 3171.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77