Fitness | Morning Swim!

in #health6 years ago

It was 6:30 AM. The world seemed to be asleep, with the winds silent, and the clouds stock still.

Yet, the water was cold and inviting.

It's been a while since I last swam. In my elementary years, I loved the water. The pool and the beach were my playgrounds. But as years passed, I seemed to have outgrown my love for swimming. Perhaps it was because of new priorities, other hobbies, or even academic requirements. Or maybe not.

Slowly, that desire to be underwater or at least in water started returning.

These past months have given me an on-and-off relationship with swimming. When I was active in the gym, swimming would be my cardio during rest days. Now that I'm planning to go back to my active lifestyle, I know swimming will be back in the game.

So today was the first time I swam again after my gym break. I swam for half an hour, nothing too different from how I used to. As I did the laps in the pool, I realized I missed the soreness my muscles felt after each stroke, the force of the water as it brushed across my skin, and the buzz of adrenaline after I got out.

I'm lucky enough to live in a condominium that has a swimming pool accessible for residents. It was only during my active lifestyle phase when I made the most out of this perk, which was the last two or three years of my university life. How I wish I took advantage of this sooner!

Despite that, this morning swim was definitely a good way to start my day, and I'm super pumped to continue this routine throughout the year. Aside from this, I plan to hit the gym again. But I'll probably do some home workouts first so as not to shock my body.

Here's a picture of me, fresh-out-of-the-shower and ready to go back to the road of fitness!

How about you? How has your fitness journey been? I would definitely love to hear from all of you! And if you liked this post, feel free to upvote, comment, or follow!


Photos taken by myself using my iPhone 6S
Sort:  

Were you lucky enough to have an empty pool? Those are my favourite :) I love knowing that I'm the only being to inhabit that bright, silent, underwater world...

Yes, an empty pool! I feel the same way, it seems as if I'm in another world when I'm alone in the pool!

What a wonderful way to start the day! I too love to start the day with exercise... gets the blood flowing and heart beating, and make you feel good! Re-steemed :-)

Thank you very much! And yes, exercise is a very great for me to start the day! Feels incomplete without it!

I look forward to seeing more posts from you! :)

Water again ! Certainly not a coincidence ..

Yes, water is just simply the best!

The pool is great. When I lived in another city, I went to the pool 2 times a week. And now, unfortunately, not been there for a year. You're done! A good example for me) The pool is great. When I lived in another city, I went to the pool 2 times a week. And now, unfortunately, not been there for a year. You're done! A good example for me) Upvote)

Oh, I see! There's no pool in where you live now? What do you do now instead of swimming? :)

How often do you think you can swim in the morning considering that you also plan to hit the gym?

Well, I'll most probably swim during my rest days. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65035.33
ETH 2950.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66