Dear Diary: I Must Cut Back On My Energy Drink ConsumptionsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #health5 years ago

P_20180828_090431_p.jpg

The nights after my dialysis are sleepless nights, it is because I am consuming energy drink at my dialysis right after I ate my dialysis meal, the best meal on earth at that point for me. The reason for the energy drink is to make my system stimulated and basically make my heart pumping because of my blood pressure issues, to make it more stable.

At least that is the theory but I have learned that a cup of coffee has more caffeine in that particular energy drink that I am consuming so it is quite not guaranteed. That is why I still get bouts of very awful blood pressure crashes like what happened today at my dialysis session where I was almost held vertical by my nurses because my BP reading is not registering to the sphygmomanometer.


Source

But I like the taste of my energy drink, it is fizzy made by sodium bicarbonate acting upon the acids and this making it bubbly and it is delicious plus it has no calorie at all but I do not know if that is good or bad because at dialysis I do needed lots of calories and protein to replace those that are lost because of dialysis itself.

The bad side-effect of having to consume it which is evident right now is my sleeplessness the night after my session as I couldn't sleep. Maybe because I am not always consuming caffeine that after one drink of my energy drink it really perks me up and an extended period of time.

energydrink.gif

Source

I guess I have to cut back on consuming it because it disturbs my sleep and I will see if I can just go without it or I might halve the amount but then again I will not get much caffeine to stabilize my BP so I will have to do some kind of adjustment in that regard.

Sort:  

I used to drink them every now and then and they would keep me up a whole day sometimes. I eventually gave them up because they left me feeling worse off in the long run. Long periods of disrupted sleep is detrimental to everyone.

I believe everything will turn around for better soon

carry on the right way

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95