Energy In. Energy Out.

in #health6 years ago (edited)

You're probably well aware of where your energy is being spent. But do you every consider how, when, or where you're refueling your energy reserves?


The law of conservation of energy says that energy is neither created nor destroyed. So where does it go? More to the point, where is your energy coming from? 


All living things must acquire and expend energy. That's just how it works. We get our energy from food. The calories in your morning breakfast provide the fuel you'll need to get you through the day (or at least until lunch). 

Food also contains the building blocks for the tissues that your body constantly regenerates on a day-to-day, hour-to-hour, and minute-to-minute basis. 

But the system also requires energy in order to convert that food into energy. So basically, we need energy to create energy. 

Where you're getting your energy and how you're using that energy determine the efficiency of YOU.

On my way home today, I was intent on stopping at the gym and getting a solid workout session in. As I sat on the bus, the gentle bouncing and hum of the engine caused me to slowly nod off. 

My body was doing the work for me. I didn't choose to doze off. In fact, I stubbornly resisted. But I couldn't win. 

Every time I tried to concentrate on my Kindle, my eyelids became heavy, and the next thing I knew...I was being startled awake by the bump of a passerby or the sudden drop of the bus into a pothole.

We should pay attention to these moments. Because our bodies are always communicating to our brain what we need at any given moment. The question is: Are we listening?

My intuition told me that I'd probably be better off going straight home and getting a good night's rest. 

I  looked ahead at my weekend...knowing that I'd already committed myself for the next three days to various social engagements. So a night at home was in order. 

We need to be aware of where our energy is going and when it's time to refuel our energy reserves. We can do it through the foods we eat. But we can also take time for ourselves, let our brains and bodies rest, and let our bodies do what they do best. 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61769.55
ETH 2910.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64