Day 2 of 20! Make it beautiful!

in #health6 years ago



Day 2

Presentation is key!

Have you noticed that? You can have the most delicious food on the planet, but if they slop it onto your plate, it's a completely different experience. While I'm in the transition days of this juice fast, (two days of fruits and veggies to ease your body into the fast) it really makes you THINK about what you're eating!


Normally, I tend to eat mindlessly. I'll snack during a movie, eat while I'm writing, or - forget to eat all day so that when I do eat, I inhale my food! I love when I do take the time to actually enjoy a meal with my family and appreciate the flavors and nutrition on my plate. However, it tends to be less than 30% of the time.

As you can see from my picture above, I took the time to prettify my lunch today. It was a simple meal - only a bowl of sliced heirloom tomatoes, but I decided to play up the beautiful colors of the fruit! I ground some fresh sea salt, sprinkled on some dried chives, and drizzled with a really delicious Balsamic vinegar.

side note - if there are any Balsamic vinegar aficionados out there, leave me a comment for the absolute BEST aged (and inexpensive) stuff on the market. It will CHANGE your view of all other Balsamics, I promise you!


It does take some discipline to do this fast, but this is my fifth time, and knowing what to expect really helps! I know how to anticipate the stumbling blocks and side step them in advance - usually! Enjoying the natural beauty of the foods you eat, taking the time to appreciate the flavors, and NOT waiting until you're starving are all ways to make this experience an enjoyable, restorative one!


*Please never engage in any type of fast without making sure it's okay with your health professional. If you don't use one, then please use wisdom in making your own decisions. My experience is a personal one and not to be taken as medical advice or counsel*

Font generator used in this post
Sort:  

Beautiful formatting! I love the transparent text :-)

I've got so much admiration for you doing this! I did a 7 day juice fast- I felt great for the first 4 days, then absolutely awful for the last three- tired all the time, just rough. But then I guess doing it and trying to carry on with the full-on pace of day-to-day life might have been a mistake?

You really did make those tomatoes look yummy... though... how how how can you sit and eat a bowl of the foul things? BLEURGH! Mmm I see lots of tasty juices in your future :)

E x

Hahahahhahaa you don't like tomatoes??? Oh gosh they were SOOOOO good!!! And now I miss them abd can't have them for hmm 15 more days! Lolollol

Yes... You are right. You really need to sloooooow down on a fast. If not... You'll hit the wall for sure!

Day 3. Feeling good... But the cravings were strong today. In about 2-3 more days they should be gone (ish) lol

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67