Diet According To A PharmaciststeemCreated with Sketch.

in #health6 years ago

Diet According To A Pharmacist

images.jpeg

Even though we pretend it is okay to be fat, everyone who is overweight wants to lose weight. Most experts agree that, even though exercise is pivotal, diet is even more crucial. In this blog the focus will be on food.

I love to snack between meals. This, however, adds calories, so what are some healthy snack foods? Nuts are pretty good, and they contain protein, but some are better than others. 1155-featured-mixed-nuts_0.jpg
From what I have read from various sources over the years, the healthiest nuts are walnuts and almonds. I like peanuts too, but they're middle of the road. Also, nuts are best raw or dry roasted.

There are many varieties of protein bars, so you have to compare: which is higher in protein, which is higher in calories, which has more fat, etc. I am not going to recommend a particular brand, you really need to simply compare ingredients next time you are at the store. It is hard to go wrong with beef jerky. Most brands are high in protein and low in calories and fat. The only problem I have with it is the fact that I constantly have to floss while eating it.

My all time favorite snack is sardines with wheat crackers. In The Burbs Tom Hanks is given a sardine on a pretzel; pretzels are okay as well. Sardines are super low in fat and high in protein, plus you can get 'spicy,' 'mustard,' or 'plain.' I even add crushed red pepper to give it that extra kick. This is filling, delicious, and about as healthy as any snack can get. Yum!
6248222936_6c4d8e549e_b.jpg

As for breakfast, I usually go with two bags of oatmeal from the variety pack. I mix it with water for one minute, and then add sliced banana, organic blueberries, raisins, and walnuts. I could eat this three meals per day. Once in a while I will have eggs with toast, or an omelette with pancakes, but only when I want to treat myself at a restaurant. Incidentally, egg whites are a fantastic source of protein as well for you exercise fanatics out there (you probably already knew that).

Salad with lettuce, onions, olives, mushrooms, and/or tomatoes is very good, but stay away from croutons and creamy dressings. By the way, I never eat fast food anymore. I do not care if it is just salad; boycott fast food! Subs can be okay depending on where you go, but once again, be careful what they put on it and stay away from any thick, creamy add ons, etc.
ThousandIslandDressing.jpg

The best meats are chicken, turkey, and fish. I love how some vegetarians do not consider fish meat. What?! Well, guess what, I do not consider you wise, so there you go. Anyway, just about anything that comes out of the ocean is good for you, just take it easy with the butter sauce on that escargot.

Brown rice is better than white rice, and it tastes better too, in my opinion. Steamed fresh vegetables only, no canned crap. This goes for fruit as well - fresh only, no cans. Some fresh fruits are better than others, but the best, once again in my opinion, are oranges, apples, bananas (ripe), organic blueberries, pomegranates, grapes, and I pretty much leave it there.
download.jpeg

Do not fear salt. The dangers of salt exist but are overblown. It can raise your blood pressure, but unless you are a salted cracker away from having a heart attack, I would not obsess over it too much. In fact, I much prefer the high sodium soy sauce whenever I eat sushi. It tastes better! I used to buy fat free everything such as butter for example, but again, as long as you consume it in moderation, you are going to be fine. Sugar comes in different forms too. My girlfriend, who is also a pharmacist, prefers brown sugar, but I do not think white is too bad either.

I make my own tuna fish sandwiches, and they are delicious. My coworkers beg me to make it, and they say they have tried to replicate it at home, but it just isn't the same. I use that which is canned in water, not oil. I mix it with low fat mayonnaise and spicy mustard. The consistency is key, you do not want it too dry. You can also mix in a variety of things such as chopped onion, celery, and/or egg whites. I then use wheat bread only and a single slice of provolone cheese. There...my secret recipe is out.
db53baa5-9b18-4fe4-ba50-a5197f53de18.jpg

I try to stay away from bread rolls, cupcakes, cookies, ice cream, potato chips, pasta, white rice, but I will make an exception for pizza. I never use ketchup and seldom use mayo; I am a big mustard guy. I love coffee so I will usually go with artificial sweetener. Yeah, I know, it caused cancer in a rat 30 years ago when they fed it five times its body weight...whatever. Sometimes I use cream, but very, very little, and usually fat free. If you prefer tea, then a dab of honey is okay.

Alcohol is fattening. Here is a simple formula for you: beer = fat. Whether it is wine, vodka, or tequila it is still, to one degree or another, going to be broken down by your body in the form of sugar. Not long ago there were some claims that the agave ingredient in tequila could actually cause weight loss. Nope, that is not true. I also stay away from orange juice for a similar reason, lots of sugar. Just drink water, and maybe diet soda in moderation.
download (1).jpeg

Now for some last words. Watch your portion size, do not go back for seconds, and do not eat past 7 or 8 pm. Eat slow and give your hunger receptors time to signal that you are full. And if you have any questions, I encourage you to ask.

Sort:  

As far as protein bars go... I would suggest those featuring whey protein. There are many with soy protein isolate which is a terrible GMO protein. I can recommend the Cave Man Bars as a good option.

I appreciate the input, thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67617.45
ETH 3777.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69