Strawberries: Organic vs. conventional

in #health7 years ago (edited)

StrawberriesI started looking for the reasons that Kevin Geary has STRAWBERRIES on his "Real Food Guide" list of fruits that ought to be organic. I found this article by Maria B and read through the comments. Then I left the following comment:

My understanding of how the body processes food is that there are some toxins that get stored up and some that get flushed. For the ones that get stored up, the process can store them up for an entire lifetime. These stores of toxins can eventually overflow, meaning that some of the toxin produces symptoms because it goes to a place that is sensitive to it. One can help reduce the size of one's toxin stores by doing a water fast. Dr. Joel Fuhrman wrote a book, "Fasting and Eating for Health" that explains this.

I have not looked for a study on the correlation of fluoridated water to osteoporosis, but I suspect that there is a connection because of how our bodies deal with calcium fluoride. That is an effect I don't think would be discovered (if it exists at all) very quickly because it's based on the (very) slow buildup of fluoride in bones, displacing calcium, I think, or something like that.

Roy Williams wrote "It is far better to let qualified (and experienced) medical professionals figure out what is going on than to try to self diagnose." I doubt that very much, but it's probably true for some people simply because their IQs are way too low to be effective. Most people have the brains to pay enough attention to themselves to make good self-diagnoses. Obviously "most" wouldn't include people who aren't aware of the psychosomatic effect that causes us to perceive symptoms when we read about them (can you feel that itchiness from insect bites on your legs right now? There aren't any, but if you put your mind to it, you can still feel them.)

I am a self-diagnoser - or, more accurately, I take responsibility for understanding how my body works and paying attention to what I put into it. Because I am afraid of the buildup of toxins, I eat only organic strawberries, fool that I am. I take another approach too, which is to fast every now and then to give my body a chance to flush out or metabolize toxins so they don't escape their containers and upset me.

Sort:  

Hi, welcome to Steemit!!

I am @botty and I give away free random upvotes and create free competitions with prizes.

Follow me for upcoming contests and a chance of a random free upvote, every 4 hours.

Keep on Steemin'

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65992.78
ETH 3014.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75