What should we know about high blood pressure?

in #health6 years ago (edited)

The objective of this post is to raise awareness about a topic as important as high blood pressure.

4.jpg

Source

What is hypertension?
It’s a disorder characterized by the elevation of blood pressure levels above the values considered normal, which increases the risk of cardiovascular events (stroke, heart attack) and target organ damage (kidney, heart and eyes).

1.jpg

Source

How is hypertension diagnosed?
Blood pressure is expressed with two measures: systolic blood pressure (which is the first figure in the report) and diastolic blood pressure (the second figure). So, for example, if we say that the blood pressure is at 110/70 mmHg, 110 corresponds to the systolic pressure and 70 to the diastolic pressure.
High blood pressure, although it often does not produce symptoms (When they occur, the most common are headache, dizziness and blurred vision), is easy to detect because it is only necessary to take the blood pressure values to diagnose it.

3.png

Source

Which are the normal blood pressure values?
Recently (Guidelines of November 2017) the American College of Cardiology, the American Heart Association and 9 other organizations established new blood pressure values, remaining as described below:
-Normal blood pressure: <120 / <80 mmHg
-Elevated blood pressure : 120-129 / <80 mmHg
-Stage 1 hypertension: 130-139 / 80-89 mmHg
-Stage 2 hypertension:> 140 /> 90 mmHg

What can I do to keep my blood pressure under control?

  1. Maintain a healthy diet and reduce salt intake: try to consume lean meats, chicken without skin, fruits, vegetables, dairy, grains, fish, seeds and nuts. Remember that salt contains sodium and it retains fluid, which causes an additional burden on the heart. One way to reduce your consumption is to decrease canned, packaged or pre-manufactured foods. Be careful with some very salty cheeses, seafood, pickles, soups.
  2. Practice regular physical activity: aerobic physical activity of moderate intensity is recommended, ideally 30 minutes a day at least 5 days a week.
  3. Control weight: in patients with obesity the prevalence of high blood pressure is higher. Even a small decrease in weight prevents hypertension and in those hypertensive patients the values decrease. A weight reduction of 10% causes the systolic blood pressure to fall by 5 mmHg.
  4. Manage stress, since it can raise the pressure temporarily thanks to certain hormones such as adrenaline and cortisol that can cause tachycardia and vasoconstriction.
  5. Avoid the consumption of cigarettes and excess of alcohol and coffee.
  6. Comply with the medications prescribed by the doctor.

2.jpg

Source

You can ask any question in the comments.

Nombre.jpg

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @eleyda78 to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Nice post
upvote and comment back

Thanks @rabbi18 for reading the post and leave your comment :)

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
The @reblogger's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by eleyda78 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Eleyda, a nicely thought out post, structured in a very readable manner. Thanks.

I happen to disagree on some of what you said, but I don't feel this is the time to go into my reasons, but I will say that I have lived long enough to see medical opinions change again and again.

As for salt, since you stress the dangers it represents, I think that you should add that readers must beware of using salt with anti-caking agent, which contains alumi (destroys brain cells). Pure sea salt has worked for us for thousands of years and still is the best.

Regards

Hi @arthur.grafo, how nice that you liked the post, you are right, sometimes in medicine things change from time to time, there has been a lot of controversy with the new values ​​established for high blood pressure, and I suppose that is what you don't agree with...

Actually, I am more concerned about the fact that medicines doctors perscribed for it have turned out to be damaging to us (some have been banned this last year), so I look for natural ways to treat myself.

For instance, I suffered, but I was told to try eating celery (raw in salad and cooked in my food). I eat at least one stick a day. I also use at least one lemon a day so as to thin down my blood, so no cold feet in winter now.

I also took the opposite route from that which is prescribed by our doctors: I avoid all sodas; I avoid all products labelled 'lean' or 'low fat'. I never eat margarine, only real butter. I stopped eating potatoes and eat yams (sweet potatoes) which are not (yet) MGO - if they get to it, I'll move on to cassava.

An important one is milk. So many people have become lactose intolerant and the companies/supermarkets keep pushing people to use low or no fat! Those are which cause most of the problems. I get my milk from a farm and it is not homogenised (this has nothing to do with killing bacteria), it is a cosmetic marketing tool - homogenising milk means that the milk and cream do not separate, so you do not get a layer of cream at the top. If you did, you would see that the 'full cream milk' has almost no cream (about 3 to 5%).

Since changing back to farm milk, my chronic sinus problem, which drove me crazy each night, has subsided. As for the cream, has it made me fatter? No.

Back to homogenised: this means that the milk is treated so violently that the molecus are broken into small molecules which your body does not recognise, so it is sent to become fat. My body uses the cream (which is more like 15%) without me putting on even one kilo.

All fat-free, lean, low-fat etc, they fatten you. Your body senses the lack of nutrition so it goes into panic mode and stores all it can as fat so as to see you through the lean years. Aslo, why use lean meat, but then add GMO cooking oils (Canola being the most damaging), I prefer to let the fat of the meat be the oil I use.

There are many documentaries available on these subjects, with references to laboratory notes, so please check it out. I owned a creche for toddlers and mine was one of the few that I know of, last year, who had no fat kids, no diabetics and they were all healthy and full of energy. Feeding them the right way ate up all my profits and I had to close, but I am glad I did it, for their parents tell me they are still trying to stick to the rules I gave them.

Well, there are points that I agree with and others where I do not:

  1. In many cases, changes in lifestyle are enough to control blood pressure values, but in others, medications are definitely needed (And it's not a marketing issue, it's a proven fact)
  2. Agree that you consume vegetables and avoid sodas.
  3. I have no problem with the use of full milk as long as you do not have serious cholesterol or triglyceride problems.
  4. Do not fatten the products low or high in fat, fatten the calories. If you consume excessive amounts of a low fat product, of course you will gain weight, since the low fat one doesn't mean that it does not have calories. What happens is that people trust that a product is low in fat or light (it happens a lot with sodas) to consume it in excess thinking that it will not hurt.
  5. The body does not sense a lack of nutrition just because the person consumes a low-fat product. Malnutrition happens because the patient ingests a poor diet in carbohydrates, fats, and proteins.
  6. You are right, the fat that contains the meat is enough for its preparation, you do not have to add additional oil.
    Thanks for your comment, I love hearing opinions and discussing...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62656.62
ETH 2941.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59