Wild Edible Smoothie: Foraging our Backyard (ecotrain)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #health7 years ago

Capture+_2017-08-09-15-57-06.png

Hello and good day my beautiful steemians!

Here is a quick video about the natural wild edibles that we found growing in our yard this year. Since they are edible we let them all grow. No sense in wasting a perfectly good gift!!

There are tons of good foraging and wild edible resources out there, so I won't duplicate those in this short post. Here are the names and scientific names, though, so you can find that info more easily:

  • Plaintain, broad-leaf (Plantago major)
    Capture+_2017-08-09-15-46-03.png

  • Labsquarter (Chenopodium album)
    Capture+_2017-08-09-15-48-06.png

  • Wood sorrel (Oxalis stricta)
    Capture+_2017-08-09-15-44-07.png

  • Purslane (Portulaca oleracea)
    (Sorry, the photo was blurred)

Thank you very much for watching and reading! The photos of the plants, as well as the video are my own content!

Please provide feedback and questions if you like content like this and would like to see more!!

Peace!
#ecotrain

Sort:  

Hi em3, loving the wild edible, up for more of these, splendid post. Noticed you because of the ecotrain tag, welcome aboard i would say.

Some favorites of mine! Nice use of them!

Thank you!
How is the lambsquarter in AR....in texas heat, it was always too strong or bitter....but here in Michigan it is nice

Thanks! It's very helpful for me to see the plants on video with you explaining the difference between clover and wood sorrel. That makes me feel like actually getting out there and picking some!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by em3 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

This post has received a 0.63 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Oh cool! Thanks @drotto and @banjo!!!

hey, I want to know more and I am lazy.

tell me some more.

can I find them in Spain?
I am sure there's heaps of things around here beside wild asparagus that I know is edible, but the locals always strip them first

You tell me in more blogs and I'll read them.

sound like a deal?

I won't know much about Spain...but I will share all I can! For more like this one, watch mine that are #health #garden or #ecotrain
Peace!!!

ok im going to look around the land here and see if i find any of these! Great post.. so nice to see properly what we can eat that may be growing wild..

thanks for sharing!

Wow, @em3. That looks delicious. All those lovely fresh herbs are so tasty. I used to make fat hen soup - chenopodium vulgare - as you know, green, healthy and so smooth on the tastebuds :)

@healingherb
That does sound delicious!!!
It was a blessing to find these this year!!
We are also cultivating some mints and thyme and rosemary too....but they need a year to establish!!

Can't wait to see those recipes (fresh herby cheese scones/straws would be on my list).

em3 if you email @eco-alex he will show you how to join us in slack if you can :)

Em3 r u ignoring me? You didnt respond at all to our comments?

No not at all!!
(You know already, I got your response to my email!)
Have a great weekend!!

Hi em3. And welcome to the ecoTrain!!!

Nice post!

You know we have Chenopodium album growing wild in our garden, pops up every year and we usually eat the buds with salads or just raw from the stem.
Looking forward to following more of your posts!

These are all great green friends that happily grow, no fuss, all plus!

A smoothie is a perfect way to go. :)

All plus indeed!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65262.74
ETH 2937.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68