Summer Adventures: Forked Lake, N.Y.

in #health7 years ago (edited)

Adventuring

My friends and I (consisting of around 12 guys) all headed out to the wilderness towards the end of this summer to relish in the time we had left with each other and to enjoy each other's company in the wilderness. We also love to camp and adventure, so this was right up our ally! We rented a campsite at Forked Lake, N.Y., and we hiked a mile through the woods to reach our destination.

Above is the view from our dock on our campsite. This of course was the spot for bathing in the freezing cold lake water and the point from which we took a mile swim to an abandoned island in the middle of Forked Lake.

This was the view from a kayak on another day as we headed up through the bogs surrounding the lake. My friend, an avid bird photographer, got quite the beautiful pictures on this excursion.

So when we weren't cooking, cleaning, arguing about the universe being a simulation, making a fire, or boating of some sort, we decided to go for a three mile hike up Blue Mountain. One of the craziest hikes in my life, the third part of the ascent was sheer rock walls freshly glistening with stream water. We hike a lot, but I must say this was one of the hardest hikes I've ever completed. It was well worth it though!

These were the views from atop the fire tower on top of the mountain. I made a little fire on top of the mountain contained with large boulders we found, and we all had lunch and then began our descent.

The week was incredible. I am so happy I got to spend such an amazing week with all of my close friends, and I can't wait to do it again next year!

Thanks for reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62777.17
ETH 2951.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59