Detox6: Still strong, not swilling snake oil

in #health5 years ago

Day 6 out of 10 in the Fasting/detox cycle

image.png

In the first few days I just went in with an open mind but its been good so far. I have discovered that taking in only liquid food for a week is doable. There is harder fasting where there are no smoothies and just water, tea and clear broth. If you want to get some good smoothy recipes check day 4 and I will add one below as well.

day 2: going into detox
day 3: taking in the tea
day 4: smoothing the smoothy

But today I wanted to add something else. We are following a German online group that is doing this fasting session. The main thing is not really losing weight even though I am already happy with my 4kg loss so far. The big thing is detoxing as in getting all the toxins that are stored in your body out of it and there was also a lot of talk about adding Oil swilling in the morning.

Oil pulling, also known as "kavala" or "gundusha," is an ancient Ayurvedic dental technique that involves swishing a tablespoon of oil in your mouth on an empty stomach for around 20 minutes. This action supposedly draws out toxins in your body, primarily to improve oral health but also to improve your overall health

I have also been doing this each morning for 10 minutes and where I used to have bad breath often (especially in the morning) this has completely disappeared. These are supposed to be the things that it will "cure". I just know that the breath is better, the rest I have still to find out

image.png

We are using the oil pictured below but as far as I can tell most people use coconut oil due to the taste.

image.png

important!!!

if you do decide to try this, the oil will turn white and foamy in your mouth. Do not spit it into the sink or the toilet as it might solidify and block the drains. I just take kitchen roll and spit it out in there and then just put it in the regular trash.

Here is the extra Cell renewer Smoothy recipe promised above:

  • a pinch of Moringapowder (if you have it, I did not but have ordered it)
  • 1 apple or 1 pear
  • 1/2 Banana
  • 1 date
  • ginger to taste
  • lemon juice (half or full lemon to taste)
  • water
    This smoothy is a lot sweeter than the others, and with the missing morenga powder I have no idea if it would have altered the taste much.

Is there anyone that has tried this before for a longer period?

I would like to hear your experiences.

Would you try this yourself?

Sort:  

You're on quit a journey, day 6 so end is in sight :) Good on you and keep it up!

The oil pulling is best with coconut oil, helps whiten your teeth and reduce plaque, I don't do it all the time, but have regular periods where I do it a few minutes in the morning and it really reduced overall plaque, something I've had issues with in the past.

I applaud you on the longer fast you're in, I haven't been able to go beyond 18 hours myself. However I am now working up to a regular daily fasting windows of 12-14 hours, basically not eating in evenings and having later breakfast. I must say I am feeling great in this intermittent fasting schedule.

yea, I have done the interemittent thing on and off as well. But I just try to avoid eating late and in the morning instead of having breakfast straight away I start with hot water with lemon and ginger. In the first break I eat and start with a coffee

I read about your smoothies and teas... and stare at my litres of plain water. Never mind, it's an experiment :-)

I often skip dinner, but when working I need some food to keep going, especially as so hot here.

Thanks for the info!

When I lived in Egypt I used to eat less and drink more:-)

Posted using Partiko iOS

:-) strangely, went off drinking a few months ago - figured it messes with my sleep and makes me feel like a cushion!

lol... well if somebody then uses you as one you at least would serve a cool function :-)

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

You got a 50.24% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @felander! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 45 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Hi @felander!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.206 which ranks you at #873 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 6 places in the last three days (old rank 879).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 359 contributions, your post is ranked at #22.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97