How I want to make the best out of my nutrition while being pregnant

in #health6 years ago (edited)

Two days ago I have been diagnosted with gestational diabetes. It´s a kind of diabetes which only appears during pregnancy and goes away after pregnancy naturally in most cases. The reason it only appears during the pregnancy is because the placenta is not able to proceed some of the nutrients correctly.

Adobe Spark (1).jpg

Gestational diabetes can affect both the unborn child and the mother in many ways.

In order to avoid any insulin shots and/or taking pills I will change my diet and see the results in couple of weeks with my doctor. For those who are going through the same problem I will be sharing my "what I eat" posts with recipes, so you can get some inspiration on what to eat and see the end result of how it affects my overall health.

I currently am in my week 30 of pregnancy and gained about 25 kg of weight "baby weight". My baby is developing as it should but with the gestational diabetes there are some of the major risks I absolutely want to avoid.

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS:

  • no white flour products
  • no processed foods
  • no or less high starch products like potatoes
  • no added sugar
  • less fruits (2 portions per day are enough)
  • more fiber (3 big portions of gresh and/or cooked veggies are going to cover my daily needs of it)
  • no fruit juices or soft drinks
  • healthy fats only (from fatty fish like salmon, nuts and organic cold pressed oils like olive oil, sunflower oil and coconut oil)
  • low fat milk products (milk, yoghurt)

That´s should be it.

Namaste,
Ira

PS: My values are not too bad that´s why I am able to try the diet change first. I am not a doctor, so please contact your doctor first in order to get recommendations for your specific gestational diabetes case.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71095.13
ETH 3686.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76