Say YES to lemon-ginger tea

in #health6 years ago

For the past 4 months, I have substituted my morning tea for ginger-lemon tea. I used to drink green tea but then I decided to try out the lemon-ginger. And I have to say, it's amazing! Having a natural energy boost in the morning sets me for a great day, and what is more important, protects me from getting ill! (European winters are no joke)

How to make lemon-ginger tea?

I think there are as many methods as there are people but let me tell you how I make it. Since I only make it for myself and I do not have time in the morning to enjoy a huge jug of the tea, I stick with one cup but I make sure to finish it before I am out of the door. Therefore the recipe is for 1 cup.

You need

  • Juice of half a lemon
  • Some ginger
  • Honey (optional)

Method

  • Squeeze juice of half a lemon into the cup.
  • Finely cut some ginger (this depends on how spicy you want the tea to be) and add it to the cup with lemon juice.
  • Put in some honey (again, this is optional. I don't think it adds that much sweetness but if you buy good organix honey, it's good for you too :))
  • Poor hot water over it. Stir it and voilà! 

              

What are the benefits of lemon-ginger tea?

  • Helps to improve skin health. The infusion of lemon and ginger as well as all the antixiodants in them contribute to the overall being of our skin. It helps to produce new cells and the antiviral and antibacterial features make sure to protect the skin from infections.
  • Boosts immunity. Lemon and ginger are well known for their powers of immune aid. The tea is especially useful when you're feeling under the weather but is also a great preventive measure. Lemon is a great source of vitamin C and ginger increases blood circulation which is necessary for optimal health.
  • Improves cognitive health. It is scientifically proven that ginger improves the memory and increases cognitive function. 
  • Improves heart health. Just one cup of this tea can protect your heart from dysfunctions. Vitamin C in the lemon is known to promote blood flow through veins and arteries and prevent blood clots
  • Improves concentration and mood. Besides the already mentioned improvement of cognitive function, the tea is also great for regulating mood swings and ginger is known to lower stress.
  • It's a great wake up call. Imagine that first sip of coffe touching your soul in the morning. And now imagine it tasting like lemon and ginger (and not like coffee). People are creatures of habbit but it's up to you to choose your habits and it's never too late to try something new!

And now I challenge you to switch your morning drink to lemon-ginger tea for a week! Promise, you won't go back!

Have a great day,
Gabi

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60906.91
ETH 2920.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69