You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Journey to a Plant-Based Diet, and the Benefits I’ve Experienced

in #health6 years ago

I am still struggling with maintaining a proper diet without cheese and milk. It is very difficult, because I cant find any replacement for them. I have been drinking milk daily all my life and this is a big change for me. I reduced cooked food and eat more fruits and raw vegetables. Dont eat meat or chicken anymore, but sea food once in a while. I feel healthier and more energetic.

Enjoy your Weekend :)

Sort:  

I used to drink a lot of milk as well, but then I started drinking almond and coconut milk instead. Putting coconut milk and honey in your coffee is SOOOO good! It's definitely not the same flavor though, so if you're drinking straight glasses of milk, it won't be the same. But, if you start drinking less and less, I know you could break the habit.

I actually turned lactose intolerant when I went off dairy, and stopped having to take allergy medicine (no more congestion!), gained clearer skin and lost weight. I just don't think it makes sense to drink cow's milk. Mammals who produce milk, produce it for their own babies. It's formulated for the baby mammal of the milk producer. Specifically designed for a baby cow. And well, we just aren't baby cows! haha. Not passing any judgements! But when I started accepting that truth more, it became easier to say no and choose another option.

But for cheese....Vegan cheese is incredible!!! I'm lucky enough to have a vegan cheese company where I live, and they deliver! And it's super affordable and delicious. Most cities these days have vegan cheese somewhere though! And many health food stores too. And if you find the right product, it tastes EXACTLY like cheese. Look for nutritional yeast in your grocery store. You can make the most creamy, cheesy things with that stuff!

Good luck on your own journey. Listen to your body and your intuition. As long as you keep making choices to better your health and increase your energy, I'm sure you'll find what works for you.

Thanks for reading and commenting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63924.41
ETH 3120.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88