A New Year's Transformation

in #health6 years ago (edited)

A New Year's Transformation

The New Year has started, guilt hangs thickly in the air, and most of us need to go on a bit of a diet. Overindulgence around the holidays can leave people feeling pretty soft around the middle. The heavy food, excess of snacks and too much drink can result in feeling very crappy. But ‘it’s OK’, you tell yourself, ‘I’ll fix it in January!’.

Come 2nd of January the gyms will be rammed, there will be twice as many joggers in the park and we will all attempt to eat our body weight in lettuce leaves. Having worked in gyms for over ten years, I’ve seen it repeatedly. Of course, as a Personal Trainer (learn more about me HERE), friends and family assume that I don’t suffer from the January guilt. But trust me, I do.

This year I’m trying an experiment – and I want to bring Steemit along with me. Over the next 16 weeks I’m going to transform my body. With an injury hampering training for the last two months, and having three separate Christmases (Vicar of Dibley style), I’m truly in need of it. I’m in the worst shape I’ve been in since I travelled in a campervan around New Zealand for eight weeks – and that was bad.

Over the next four months I’m going to drop from my current 20%-ish body fat to sub 10% - I’ll be getting accurate measurements done at the start of the programme, next week. I'll post official before photos and measurements once I have them done on Monday - that's going to be embarrassing. But I'll remind myself that this is my starting point and what you don't measure, you don't change.

10805663_961393880554996_4503831129617870017_n (Small).jpg

Twelve week transformation I did post travelling four years ago

Every week I’ll post updates and guide you through the steps I’m making to get lean, strong and fit. Each strategy I use will be one that I’ve used hundreds of times with clients over the years – proven, real world strategies for real results. At the end you’ll see how far I’ve come – this before shot here and a dramatically different after shot.

When you see before and after photos – you just see a snapshot. It tricks the brain into thinking that those changes came instantly. Though they show what can be done, they don’t tell the real story. They don’t tell you about the cravings, the fatigue and pushing yourself to wake up to train when all you want to do is sleep. Those photos don’t tell you about the hard work it took – the day in and day out slog to achieve something great. I’m hoping this blog will help rectify that.

Anna Square (Small).jpg

Fifteen week transformation (previous Personal Training client of mine)

Finally, let me just address something. We are all at different stages of our lives and our journeys. I’ve seen clients of mine lose forty kilos and others lose non, but all of them ultimately feel better in themselves and their bodies. It doesn’t matter where you start or where you want to be. It matters that you follow your own journey, don’t worry about other people, and always aim to improve. To paraphrase my favourite author, Brandon Sanderson, ‘the first step is the most important a man can take’. See you next week!

Sort:  

Good little post - consistency is the key to making change a reality, right? Important to always choose changes that are within your current capabilities so you can make them a habit over the long term. Thanks for the comment @noorzaidurrani

I hope i would follow your shape you showed!
Because of a little bit drink and snacks, i am getting fate more..

Thanks for the comments! :)

Really impessive ! Wish you good luck

Thank you so much! Started today!

Congratulations @healthsquared, this post is the third most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 7411 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $1751.44. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

it's a very beautiful sight I love to see it

Hopefully this year I'll get even leaner!

Great! You're an inspiration for people trying to get in shape.

Thank you boss :)

Waww its you?
Good bro 👍

Hehe, thank you. Yes that was me around four years ago. This time I hope for even better - though I'm not sure I'm in quite as bad shape as that this time :p

The "backpacker" diet is incredible for losing weight. Getting out and about, walking tons, and limiting snacking caused me to lose 15 pounds while traveling around Southeast Asia.

Good luck on the next journey! I'll be focused on getting ready for my wedding next Fall.

I just got fat while I was travelling :p I just ate massive bowls of cheap noodles and pasta all of the time! Good luck with your wedding - I am getting married September 18'

I'm ready to take on the challenge with you! Yesterday was my beginning and was filled with a lot of stumbles and learning moments and I am feeling like the new year is landing at a time where I am feeling confident with my nutrition and fitness goals to feel my best and take care of my body.

I looked back to your introductory post to get to know you and was curious as to what Coach Ben (great idea with the personal tag, I will have to borrow that trick) DOES love if not coaching? I have been given the wise advise of do what you love, you'll find a way to pay the bills (looking at you, Steemit crowd! ;) )

Happy New Year!

Thanks @thisismework. Don't worry about all of the stumbles - that's how you learn! My best advice is to not aim for perfection, just aim for 'better'. As long as each day, each meal or each decision is better than your last - you will not fail. Look out for some tips in future posts on the nutrition!

Exactly, the small improvements add up to big results.

And I think that you have only addressed half of my initial comment; perhaps you are still considering? I may have misunderstood, but it seemed that you were indicating that you did not have a passion for coaching. I had a similar experience when I first completed the program that I had selected over 6 years earlier, "What motivated me to pursue this?" It was only once I took a step back from trying to cram myself into a mold of what a professional in my field did, that I realized I could make what I do well a benefit to my field. That shift will stand to be the moment when I made it my passion and no longer a chore. Perhaps the steemit platform will be all that you need to have the impact you desire, I know that I am hopeful to have global impact via this platform and its hard not to get excited about that.

I need to transform myself too. But laziness is the main things preventing me doing that.

Laziness is just you not wanting something different more than what you have now. That's OK - you won't always be at a place in your life where eating well or exercising is your priority. We all have our own challenges at different times.

When getting in shape is more important than staying the same, then you'll no longer be lazy. It will happen one day. Changing a lot is hard work and needs a lot of motivation - try something smaller like trying to drink more water or get more sleep and you may find that laziness isn't so much of a problem. Good luck @hafiz34

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63156.26
ETH 3071.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86