Sitting Disease Video = Time for a Wake up Call!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #health6 years ago (edited)

Jerry Garcia once said, "Somebody has to do something, it is just incredibly pathetic it has to be us..."

garcia.jpg
photo credit >>

I just celebrated my 59th birthday this last weekend and it was a wonder-full one... though, i have to admit turning 59 certainly has caused me some deep thoughts about being in my last year of my 50s...

= = = yikes!

For one, i can't quite believe that i actually made it this far... and many have told me that life only begins in their 60s...

Really?.........

It's interesting... This life shift has also prompted me to re-evaluate a lot turning 59... ie., where and what i'm doing in my life regarding my work and most particularly my health...

Earlier last year, i was diagnosed with very high blood pressure and now, i'm on medication with doctor recommendations of getting my butt out the door and MOVE more... saying that i can easily lower my BP by simply walking 1/2-one hour a day about 3 days or more a week...

Am i listening?... NO...

I keep doing what i've been doing, as i have been for the last number of years and the results i'm getting are not great... ie., gaining weight, feeling tired, etc... etc.. and now i have high blood pressure... way to go weaver....

One would think i'd hear that wake up call with the BP piece... and yes, i'm attempting to change my lifestyle - though, i could certainly be doing better...

Does it take a stroke or heart attack to wake me up...?

It's amazing how complacent i/we can become...

I've found out that i have what's called "Sitting Disease"... in addition to the high BP...

I'll admit that i do 'sit' waaay too much... from my work being a graphic designer and artist = i simply sit toooo much and then, when my day is over, i also sit too much in the evenings watching netflix with my partner...

It's interesting... a couple of years ago i stumbled on a video (see below) that shows quite brilliantly how we can simply change our health by just getting active for only a 1/2 hour a day.....

Only one 1/2 hour a day.......

Time to wake up weaver = duh....

The wonderfully animated video called "23 and half hours" is only 9-minutes and totally worth the watch...
It has re-awoken me up yet again to step it up to take care of my health even more.. thus, just get my butt out the door...

In the video Dr. Mike Evans talks about how we tend to spend almost 23 1/2 hours a day sitting... and if we just got active only a 1/2 hour a day, would benefit our health so much... so, i'm sharing here to perhaps help others as it is helping me wake up... and stop being complacent ignoring my health...

In fact, a study was done in the 1990s with workers in Okasa Japan with high BP, and found some interesting and powerful results when they got just a little more active:

• 11-20 minutes of activity a day = lowered their BP 12%
• adding over 21 minutes a day = by 29%
• and, adding another 10-minutes to that = 12%

Hmmnnn... interesting huh?...

So, i invite you to watch this fun video and welcome your comments + perhaps an upvote?

thank you... and have a great day and get up off your butt - i will!...
weaver x (((o)))

A few goals i'm adding right away to help lower my blood pressure...
• get my butt out walking and/or rebounding once a day for a minimum 1/2 hour...
• cut down my daily chocolate = fat intake (i'm definitely addicted to dark chocolate = i just eat too much!)...
• eat more raw foods and juices... (i feel so much better when i do)...
• eat cleaner protein by continuing my morning isalean shakes which help lower my calorie intake...

At some point i'll update my progress here... :o)

#jerrygarcia #minnow #ilovesteemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65229.52
ETH 2946.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67