30 Day No Alcohol Challenge: Complete!

in #health6 years ago

Hello fellow Minnows, Dolphins, and Whales. I wanted to give you all a quick update on my 30 day No Alcohol Challenge that I took. This post will be more of a journal style entry.

Source
noalcohol30.PNG

In my last article, I detailed many of the reasons why alcohol is horrible for your mind, body, and life. I have been drinking for practically every weekend since I was 18, which is 6 years in a row. As hard as it may sound, I was able to give up alcohol for 30 days! I actually went 38 days without alcohol. It was so great for me mentally, physically, and my wallet. I generally had a better mood all the time and more energy. I was able to crush my gym routine and had great gym gains! I felt well rested every day. Also, I had more disposable income that I saved and also spent on healthier food such as more fruits – something I’m working on!

Source

What did I do while I didn’t consume alcohol?

I spent a lot of time working out, reading, and working on self-improvement. I noticed more focus and energy at my job; my performance has greatly improved.

Me working out :))

back6.JPG

So how did I interact socially and did I go to bars??? Well I avoided going out most of the times. When I did hang out with friends socially, I realized I had more focus and confidence when I talked, surprisingly because people usually need alcohol for confidence. I actually did go out to bars a few times, you know the ones that have loud music and are full of drunk people? I felt a lot of confidence when talking to women, but I realized they were drunk and didn’t really make sense. I also realized my friends acted really dumb when drunk. I actually got kind of bored and realized going out was not at all what it was made up to be! Since then I’ve preferred social gatherings at restaurants or gatherings in friend’s apartments/houses where you can actually have and hear a conversation! Nevertheless, I enjoyed my sober month.

Something like this ;)

Source

Guys I cannot emphasize how amazing this challenge was. The 30 day no alcohol challenge is a common thing and there is a great community on reddit/stopdrinking. We need to make our own movement here on Steemit! I feel giving up alcohol as an adult who has had alcohol for years is perfectly fundamental for resetting yourself both mentally and physically. Now that I have completed the challenge I have more self-discipline…I have decided since then to occasionally pick up drinking again to see if I go back to my old self.

On my 38th day I had a few glasses of wine. Every once in a while since then I will have a few drinks, and I will have them sporadically throughout a weekend night. I’ve noticed I get the mind numbing feel good effects of alcohol, but I never get drunk. I realize I have more self control now and can stop after a few drinks. I feel different now though – because I don’t crave alcohol like I used to. It used to be an addiction for me – I used to have to go out every weekend, get drunk, and waste my whole entire next day wasted. Now I decide if I want to drink or not – and it’s rare, maybe once every few weeks or so. Things have definitely changed now. Weekend days I can go and get a lot of things done!

Source

Conclusion:

Guys I’ve realized you can definitely live and have fun without alcohol. You can also have a couple of drinks in moderation and still enjoy yourself as well. But getting drunk and consuming a lot of alcohol is not worth it! I recommend based on my experience to give yourself the challenge to find out how disciplined you are and to reset your body a little, give yourself a break! After you have done the 30 day challenge, decide for yourself if you want to continue drinking or if you rather give it up completely! Cheers and god bless!

Please Visit Some of My Other Posts

My 30 Day No Alcohol Challenge
Lets Talk About Sugar and How Bad It Is
How To Get Filthy Stinking Rich
How To Make Money and Be Successful On Steemit
Follow My Intense Back Workout
Travel With Me! San Francisco
Travel With Me! Miami Beach
My Five Top Dance and Workout Songs On My Gym Playlist
75 Days Out From Men's Physique Bodybuilding Competition

Until Next Time...Best Regards

Fitness Guy

Sort:  

Congrats! As of today, it's been 6 weeks since I've had a drink. I originally said a month (well, 4 weeks) but decided to double it. I think I might go for 3 months or even longer as I feel really good. I've done a month off a couple times, but each time I'm getting better at handling it. Now I just bring cans of sparkling water if I'm going to a party or hanging out with friends who drink or anything like that. Nobody notices and I still get to enjoy holding a beverage in my hand.

Wow you are someone to look up to. Yes, I agree once you do a month it is so much easier. If you actually did 3 months you would have so much mental clarity! Yeah I do the same! Sparkling water is great and you totally blend in with others :)

Congrats on completing the challenge..!!! 👌

seems like u r passing busy days..! Good to see u back in steemit.. :p

~ Tennis Girl 🎾🎾

Thanks nice hearing from you! I'm glad your monitoring your progress. Yes, I am very active here :P

hehe... have a good day.. :p

Its good to hear that you completed it without any such difficulties...
Staying fit is the best thing... like you

It wasn't totally easy! But it built a lot of character. Thanks I appreciate the compliment, we can all be fit if we put our minds to it!

It's so good to hear that you have stopped drinking Alcohol. Alcohol consumption is bad for health we all know, but how bad is it. I must say that a lot of people die from alcohol consumption.
Alcohol is not worth your life man. Im so happy for you. Cheers and have a wonderful life ahead

Yes people can get very sick and die from alcohol. Thank you for your wishes. Your life > alcohol, I totally agree man. Thanks for commenting.

An interesting challenge .. Fitness is very essential for our health and comfortable...life... Good entry in your challenge . Hope that you complete your challenge .. Good luck...@jfitmisc

I completed my challenge. If you read my post you would of realized that.

Thanks..sorry i mistake this point...@jfitmisc

This post has received a 5.72 % upvote from @boomerang.

Awesome mate. I agree you do feel better without drinking. I stopped completley about 5 year's ago and havent had a drop since -best decision i ever made.

Its hard at first but after a while you dont miss it.

Good on you for being able to moderate your drinking

Congrats!
The last time I drank was last month but it was a couple of years or more before that.

Good job! I did a similar challenge when I moved to NYC. The results were practically the same: health, wealth, and happiness. Although I continue to have a few drinks on occasion (not even every weekend), I managed to keep the weight I loss off, have created totally new spending habits, and feel a lot happier largely due to better sleeping. I don't think I could even go back to drinking like I did since my body can't seem to take it anymore! Anyway, good stuff man.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55