You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Battling Illness With A Ketogenic Lifestyle

in #health7 years ago

I am on a keto-vegan diet. I was on the ketogenic diet for about 6 months. I wasn't ever overweight, but I felt heavy at 64kg... I am 5ft 6".

I suffered from bloating after food and just feeling tired and sluggish. I also had pain in my joints. However, on the keto diet I felt energised, very alert, the bloating disappeared, and the pain has eased considerably. I also dropped to 59kg and feel just right.

The only problem was that I did eat quite a bit of cheese and the red meat etc bumped my cholesterol up. Apparently it is inherited. I loved the keto diet, so I combined it and became a keto-vegan. Perfect! I feel really good now. I found that it was carbs that caused the bloat and the pain.

I don't feel restricted in any way. It isn't a difficult diet, and I don't miss sugar, cakes, biscuits etc at all. All my food is fresh and natural. You can't put a price on good health.

Doctors are mostly just intent on pushing medication down our throats. But they only mask the problem not deal with the root cause.

Sort:  

I thought ketogenic diet had to be meat and day, like paleolithic. Would love to find out more about keto-vegetariam 😊 Any good links you have about it?

Just noticed your comment about doctors, which I disagree with. Let me tell you about patients instead: all they want to have pills prescribed, if you start talking diet their eyes glaze over

No. Ideally yes, it contains grass-fed beef, pork etc, but I felt sluggish eating pork cooked any which way.
I have elevated cholesterol, which is apparently inherited, and I was eating lots of high fat foods, especially cheeses. I love cheese. My cholesterol shot up. But I loved the rest of the diet, so I kept that. I eat very little to no carbs.
I eat vegetables, mainly raw, or slightly cooked, fruit, smoothies, veg juices, nuts . I also cut out sugar. I eat oily fish too.

So I took the best of each diet and combined them. Since then I have found a few others on Steemit using the same combination.

I guess I just must have come across a raft of doctors who routinely prescribe pills for everything. They tried to ply me with Nsaids and really strong and dangerous drugs. I didn't want to go down that route. I did extensive research on these drugs and found they totally exacerbate the condition making it worse. They erode cartilage, plus cause so much other damage. They were all so annoyed that I refused the drugs, but a few reluctantly had to agree. They wanted to try out experimental drugs..... I am not a Guinea pig.

The change of diet has changed everything. But each doctor bar one was displeased that I discontinued the drugs. Unfortunately I have found doctors here all too willing to hand out "magic pills" rather than investigate and treat the root cause.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65992.78
ETH 3014.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75