SELF-CARE: Been staring at a screen too long? Eye exercises can help.

in #health6 years ago (edited)

Eyestrain is common, especially for those of us who spend hours (and hours) staring at screens.

I notice that I have way less eye strain when I do eye yoga. I’ll share one approach here.


eye yoga

It takes very little time to give your vision some love, but it can make a huge difference. Exercising the muscles around your eyes brings circulation to these amazing organs that allow us to see!

The basics of eye exercises:


  1. Move the eyes through a full range of motion.
  2. Don’t strain. Remember to breathe.
  3. Give them a minute to rest afterwards, to receive the benefits.

I laughed when I went on YouTube and searched for yoga eye exercises, because the video I clicked on was by Paul McCartney. Yeah, the musician.

The Beatles got into yoga, right? Well, Paul did this simple video on eye yoga. Thank's, Paul!

Nurture yourself with some off-screen time.


Unplugging is so important. Not that I'm super-awesome at it, but I make a point to step away and get on my yoga mat or go outside for some fresh air.

Of course, it’s best to do these exercises looking at something gentle on the eyes, like nature, or a piece of art, or pretty much anything other than a screen.

Self-care is vital, yet it's something that can be easy to push aside when you’re already busy, and then take a dive down the bottomless rabbit hole of Steemit. ;) Meditation, yoga, exercise, going for a walk, laughter, singing, dancing, SLEEPING — however you need to care for yourself, make it a priority.

You are a gift, take care of yourself.

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel


Author bio: Katrina Hokule’a Ariel is an old-soul rebel, a musician, a tree-hugging yogini and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders and other books, she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steemit.

dragon
dragon art: Liiga Smilshkalne


the alliance

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

#thealliance #teamcanada #teamusa

Sort:  

Great post! I never really think about my eyes when it comes to spending a lot of time at the computer. I am usually worried more about my posture and lack of movement. What a good reminder.

Glad it helped! Thinking about posture and lack of movement is pretty important too. :)

I am worried about my eyes. I have not been sleeping well lately; since I joined steemit. It is truly a rabbit hole. Also my off screen time, is so little, it's scary.
I am going to try the yoga exercise. Let's see how it can help

It can be easy to get sucked in too far. Take care of yourself. :)

Thank you for these tips! I definitely need some off-screen time! I love the photo you took at Mitad del mundo!

AH! You recognized my Ecuador handstand? Superb! I loved it there. So glad you found the post helpful. :)

Interesting video. Like many people I'm sitting in front of a screen half my life. I work in the office 8 hours a day and afterwards I work on the computer developing landscape images so I often have tired eyes. I will give these eye relaxing techniques a try the next days ;)
I wish a could do a hand stand like you ;)

I hear you. I spend so much time in front of my computer. I hope the eye exercises help. Handstands are fun, too. ;)

yo nice handstand

Everyone on steemit needs this. 👀 We stare at our screens excessively! I'm definitely going to try this.

I love eye exercises. I'm convinced they make a huge difference. :)

eye eye kiptain I'm on the eye yoga!! guilty! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61209.23
ETH 2940.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73