Is the Keto Diet REALLY good for you

in #health5 years ago

farmto table.jpg

Being healthy needn't be as boring as it is made out to be..... if you are a creative person, this is an amazing time for you to explore and find new and interesting ways of eating what is right for you. Unfortunately, mot people today are prone to some form of intolerance or allergy to something. We have unhealthy gut's and this is the main reason why we have to deal with these horrible side effects!

I am married to a type 1 diabetic, he has been for 15 years, and well, he's only been admitted to hospital once for diabetic complications. So he looks after himself, I help of course, but we do it together mainly. Since we have changed our lifestyle, we have more energy, we are more grounded and less affected by silly things, so our mental status is fantastic! Our bodies, I have lost 25kgs and my husband has less highs and lows, his blood sugar levels are more stable, he needs less insulin and well, he feels healthy! So, we must be doing something right!

SO, WHAT DO WE DO?

Well, we have adopted a more balanced lifestyle, we combine a ketogenic diet with a few less healthy treats during the month. So, I do not limit myself completely. I think that going totally carb free is a bit of a shock to the system. It was to mine! Soon after I lost all the weight, I slipped a disc in my low back and was incapacitated for 3 months. So I think that for a lot of people, it is not a good idea to jump off of the deep end and dive into a total opposite lifestyle to what your body is used to, I mean, surely it must get a big shock??

I though so too, so what we did was we decided we are not going to completely eliminate the "treats" that we enjoy. I still have a burger when I want one, I have a pizza when I want one. I just don's scoff it all down and we work on an 80/20 rule. So we do 80% keto and the other 20% we eat pretty much what we like. The key here is moderation, so I didn't eat the whole pizza, I left some for the next day and so on. So, I get the treats, but not every day. The body likes to be in a state of balance, it does not respond well to hock and deprivation. Balance yourself, balance the good with the bad and you will lose weight! You will have more energy and you will feel so good you will want to do something crazy like go sky diving lol. Seriously, my energy levels are amazing!!!! Like through the roof!

We do not limit ourselves completely, as I mentioned, we have our treats, we just do it in moderation! I don't have to finish a whole pizza to satisfy my craving.. I have 3 or 4 pieces and save some for the next day. It is all in your mind, if you want to be healthy, you have to work hard at it and make some sacrifices in order to succeed but you NEED to put in the effort and learn. Don't pretend like you know everything, just make a decision and do something. If your goal is to lose weight, fine, you want to feel sexy, I get it! I want to feel sexy too and I am getting there for sure, but I am getting there because I made a choice, I want to be healthy, not just thin, I want to be able to live a full life with my family and to enjoy it and for that, I need my health. The best way to change your health is to change your lifestyle. Lifestyle is more than just eating right, it's everything you do, your behaviors EVERYTHING. Here is a before and after picture to see the change! Look how big I was on my wedding day!!! I feel like I need t get married again so I can look better lol

#beyourself.jpg

So think abut it, don't you want to feel free? Loved by yourself? I feel it and I have been so liberated, I am feeling great. The moral of the story is, GO KETO, it is an amazing way of life, but have your treats, set yourself goals. I had a pizza when I reached my first 10kg mark, what would you have chosen? What diet do you follow?

Thanks for reading lovely Steemians

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66266.06
ETH 3031.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67