You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Starting a Three-Day Fast: Some Insights From Stem Cell Research

in #health5 years ago (edited)

I have been hearing quite a bit about intermittent fasting and stem cell production, and though Ive been doing intermittent fasting every once in a while, I have never actually looked into the research on the subject. So I appreciate you doing the leg work on that. I'm glad to see that there is some truth in it. I can fast for day fairly easily and I did two days on water alone recently. I did a 4 day cleanse once and that was very challenging. I wasnt all that hungry but I craved food like mad. It's also the habit of eating that's hard to break. Ive Never done 3 days on just water so I'm impressed that you are doing 3 days. I bet you'll feel good afterwards. I always feel amazing while doing it and also for a few days after. Good luck!

Sort:  

Hi, thanks! I should have checked the #fasting tag before writing it, just to see how many posts there are.

Here, Buddhist monks are supposed to fast from midday to the next morning, so about 18 hours - so isn't culturally unusual.

I admit, water only will be challenging, but have been planning this for some time and this is the first period in which I have free days. Trying to do it Friday evening to Monday morning is just not long enough for the ketogenesis to kick in.

Thing is... it also means no coffee, no tea and no smoking!

What protocol was your 4-day cleanse? Juices?

Just to add, will post a few more articles on ketogenesis and on safety protocols - plus anything else I find of interest.

Yeah the no coffee is challenging. Get ready for a cracker of a headache and possibly feelings of depression lol. I assume stopping smoking has the same effect.

The four day cleans was something my mom convinced me to do several years ago. Basically I had to drink a combination of psyllium fiber, apple cider vinegar, a special type of clay (hahaha sounds ridiculous) and a natural mild laxative, 4-6 times per day. Supposedly the fibre, clay and laxative combo removed toxins from the body and the vinegar provided potassium and some other nutrients. I think I might have taken a multivitamin as well. Cant remember. Loading up on liquids gets rid of the hunger pangs but not the cravings and the habitual nature of wanting to eat. You tend to be the most hungry during your regular eating schedule because that's when the body releases insulin and other hormones in preparation for oncoming food.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, have read about such protocols. Guess my motivation is very specific, hence there is really only one option - others would be good as practice-runs, but have been skipping dinner on most weekdays and felt fine. As you said, the feeling of hunger arises at the normal eating times but fades away pretty quickly.

I very rarely get headaches, so will see what happens - many people do complain of caffeine withdrawal headaches.

You're one of the lucky ones I guess. I get massive headaches on day 2 of caffeine withdrawal. I only drink a max 2 cups of coffee a day

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57440.51
ETH 2911.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66