A souvenir from the Holy Land

in #health6 years ago

So, I got back from the Motherland, also known as the Holy Land, and to some, simply as Israel.
The "vacation" was definitely a much needed scenery change, and I returned home with some weight off my shoulders, and some new ponderings and resolutions for the future.

However, I also came back with a little... I'll just call it a souvenir, although I can think of many, many other words for this pleasure. Take a look for yourselves:

2018-07-08 09.08.42.jpg

To those of you who don't live in Israel (like myself), this can look very scary. However, it's "just" a mosquito bite. Or 30 of them. And before you ask - yes, they're very itchy, every moment spent with them is literally hell. What kind of mosquito does that???

Well, the answer I got from my friends was very simple. Meet the Asian Tiger Mosquito, a hideous beast, originally from south-east Asia, that took residence in Israel over the past 5-6 years (it actually got there in the early 2000s, but it started becoming more and more common only after I left the country, and not earlier than that). It's active during the day, and it's a real b**ch.

So I'm back, and in endless torment. These bites itch so bad, and so far nothing helps. It got to the point where I woke up in the middle of the night because my leg moved, and I accidentally started scratching, and once you start - it's really, really hard to stop. And so, I'm mosquito snack, with an incredible lack of sleep. Not exactly the photo I promised you I'd try to take from my parents' home (which I did, and I promise to publish a different post about that).

Do you live in countries where this mosquito is active? What do you do to defend against this monster??? Please do share.


If you liked this post, please upvote and resteem, and maybe follow me on Steemit, too!
To take a look at my photos (mainly Paris related), visit my Instagram account.
For planning your dream vacation in Paris or France, come visit my website.
Or, if you just want to see more pretty things, go to my Etsy shop and see what I have there for you :-)

And in the meantime – don't forget to have a wonderful day.

Sort:  

I hope mosquitoes did not upset your holiday?)

It was my grandmother's 90th birthday, so no, the mosquitos didn't manage to destroy the vacation. However, the day after the vacation was kinda ruined.

I want to see your Paris photos. Will search now

I'd love to know what you think!

Hihi, you look like a pocket calculator :D

Thanks, that was the look I was going for :-p

Fancy summer fashion :D

its rainy season and mosquitoes are out there .
SO be careful , In india we have a mosquito named Aedes . the bite of that mosquito is very dangerous.
One can even die with its bite..

So how do you protect yourselves from such a mosquito?

Odomoss a mosquito replent cream

אחלה פוסט חחח.. תרגישי טוב מקווה שכבר עבר עובר..

Nope. Still totally there.

מלאן משחת אלוורה גם אם פושטית מהמקרר
...
אוייש
מוכר מוכר
מקווה שיעבור במהרה

ממליצה להתלבש ארוך וצמוד
כשאת בחוץ בערבים
זה מה שאני עושה כאן בראש פינה
וזה סיוט וזה עושה עצבים
יעבוררר
תרגישי טוב

Mam I am noticing from some day that you are not posting anything from last 10 days..
Mam is everything going fine??

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01