Manuka Honey. A trip to where it all started.

in #health7 years ago

r

This tiny little flower on a scraggly bush packs a powerhouse of goodness.  This is New Zealand Manuka and the honey from this bush has taken the world by storm.  

I am lucky enough to live just 20 minutes from where it all started, so thought I would take you on a quick drive out to Comvita who produce UMF honey.  (The UFM stands for Unique Manuka Factor). I have chosen Comvita not just because I live so close, but because they were the first in the world to discover the UMF and in the face of strong opposition and ridicule they have not only survived, but proved themselves....Besides....I wanted to try the muffins at the cafe.

As usual, it had been raining as we headed out on our new-ish stretch of motorway to Comvita on the outskirts of Tauranga

The colours on the outside are typically used for beehives.  I have worked in the paint industry for many years and there are certain colours they are attracted to, others they will ignore.  I have supplied many litres of paint for bee hives, it's been fun coming up with colours (mainly pastel)

 It was pretty dreary looking when we pulled up.   

This is a typical Manuka tree/bush.  They grow wild everywhere!  Some are white flowered.

Never one to back away from a coffee and a muffin, we ventured in.

It has been a few years since I was last here and the place is still very warm and inviting.

This is the retail part, where you can sample and buy from an extensive range.  As it was still Winter, there was a theme of cold and cough remedies.

I wasn't sure if I was allowed to take photo's in there (they may think I was an Industrial Espionage agent) I stealthily took shots when the staff weren't looking, one of the ladies came over and we got chatting (as you do) and she was only too happy for me to click away....whew!  I'm no good at undercover.

Here's the amazing liquid itself

Where and who started it all.  He's now 101 years old and still going strong!!

They even had a live bee hive.  It was such a grotty day, but they were busy going in and out.

They don't like being in the shop area so the staff rotate the hives about every 10 days.  The close up's of the bees are a bit blurry as they were beating their wings very fast.  The bee with the little sticker on it No 48, is the Queen

Coming in from outside

I absolutely LOVE Bee's and took a few shots of some amazing facts.  (I didn't know any of this, now, they are even MORE precious )

They never sleep ? Only half a teaspoon ?!! Those dear wee things.

But wait....there's more

I think this is the way of the near future in the fight against infection and the rise in Antibiotic resistant bacteria.  A lot of research has gone into this and is still ongoing (see video)

We had just missed the tour so decided to head home.  (Muffin was YUM)

I have included a link to a video by Comvita, not that I'm promoting the company, but they have done an excellent job of putting together some interesting facts about where Maunka and UMF Manuka Honey comes from and how they do what they do.  The Medical segment near the end is pretty interesting.

I hope you have enjoyed seeing where New Zealand Manuka honey first started and, like me, have found a new love and respect for those hard little workers, our honey bee's.

I will definitly go back for the Tour and hopefully be able to take some photo's, until then, hopefully this link to the Comvita video will work.

 https://youtu.be/8hps5pOhI2c?list=PLo7WcLuKtXXbFRFFCwRS4Ie1vgk-SQY97 








Sort:  

Bee is very important for our planet :)
I love Honey :)))

Yes I agree, they are crucial...thank you for your comment :)

Thank you so much for posting this! I am a LOVER of honey and am genuinely worried about declining bee populations worldwide. Beyond the delicious honey, they are amazing creatures! Very informative. Best wishes for you!

Thank you so much. So glad you gleaned some info from this.

Great post Made In His Image! I always wanted to keep some bees but never did. Do you have a hive?

No but our neighbours do, I think it would be great too !

Thanks @jonas160. I will definitely get more once I "go inside" on a tour

Good nature 🌸🌸 always be happy

Thank you !! I always try.to be happy..it's definitely a state of mind

interesting. im curious , how does manuka honey is better than the rest, i although though wild honey is better than those of farm honey.

Hi @danieldoughty, hey thanks so much for your comment and for the re-steem !! wow! All honey is good (in my books) however, they have found the anti-microbial qualities of Manuka to be outstanding. You can also boil the leaves of this great little powerhouse bush and use for bathing wounds etc. Captain Cook made beer from this to stave off scurvy, when he and his crew landed here, it also makes a good tea. The link to the video is pretty informative about how it is so different.

Learned new on this. Nice photos. :)

Thank you so much @zaraina :)

Thanks for the info Manuka Honey.

Since I have seen Manuka Honey hitting the shops in London for the last decade or so the price never sells below £30 for a small jar.

Yes it's expensive here, especially the Medical grade, but when you understand the hard work and processes that have gone into this, I can understand it's value. When you see some of the remote places they put the hives (which they have to check every 10 days) it must be a mission getting in and out. The great thing about honey, it keeps forever :)

I fully understand why it`s expensive and the magic benefits it produces for you as well. I just came across this one of Manuka Honey last night on google:

MGO™ 550+ Manuka Honey Blend is derived from Leptospermum Scoparium, a plant unique to New Zealand; its flowers are powerfully fragrant and full of nectar which attributes Manuka Honey with its rich, dark and full-bodied flavour.

MGO™ 550+ Manuka Honey is certified to contain a minimum of 250mg/kg methylgyoxal. Methylgyoxal is a naturally occurring compound in Manuka Honey that lends the substance its remarkable and unique properties. No other system of measurement gives such a clear and simple indication; the higher the MGO™ rating, the higher the Methylglyoxal content.

This one they sell at £99 in the UK!

WOW !!!! that's pricey, way out of my league that's for sure. I just hope its a huge jar for that price, hate to think what that is in Kiwi $$$

I think that jar size would probably last a family around a week if their lucky. A single person probably slightly longer.

I call Manuka Honey "Billionaire Honey" for the filthy rich!

Great post!! I just got on the Manuka Honey wagon and love it! It's just so darn expensive here in Canada though. 😌

So glad you are on the Manuka trail (hope it's NZ Manuka) I gotta admit, I only get the UMF Manuka honey when I am ill or need to heal a wound etc. We have blends here (which I'm sure you have as well) they are a mix of wild and Manuka and are also less Cha Ching. Thanks so much for commenting :)

Manuka honey has a lot of health benefits and yet many people have not heard of its properties for our health

The cost can be a bit off putting, but it's an investment and will keep in your pantry forever. Thank you for stopping by and leaving a great comment

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61994.03
ETH 2917.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62