But first... collagen!

in #health6 years ago (edited)

collagen
Melissa Jarquin

Collagen is critical structural protein found in skin, muscles, bones, joints, digestive systems, blood vessels, tissues. While it's often marketed as a beauty product to be applied topically through creams, lotions, serums, and magical unicorn products sold on tv ( Ok, maybe not that last part!) the best way for your body to absorb this important protein is via foods or supplementation!

img_6143
by Danielle Macinnes, via Over

When supplementing it's important to find well-sourced protein, after all you are what you eat! Try seeking grass-fed and/or pasture raised animals and organic when you possible! I love how tasteless it is making it a versatile staple in my diet. It's soluble in hot and cold beverages (just warm it up first and allow to cool for easier blending!), baked good, soups, smoothies, you name it! Collagen, is a staple in my diet and I add it to my coffee in the mornings and tea at night! Being an athlete or living an active lifestyle is essential for health but it your machine starts wearing down so will the quality of your lifestyle.

img_6145
by Brenda Godinez, via Over

Lately I’ve been asked about how to improve sleep quality and reduce stress. Some of collagen’s lesser known benefits can do just that!

Additional Benefits of Collagen:
•improves skin and joint health •repairs joints and connective tissue
•improves sleep
•reduces anxiety
•strengthens bones
•heals leaky guy (this is related to the ability of your body to use what you put inside of it!)
•reduces appetite

I used to be big on having homemade bone broth daily but out of convenience I’ve been experimenting with different brands of pre-made organic broths. Some have been great while others have “natural” ingredients that don’t sit well in my tummy! There a ton of really good, high quality, grass-fed, collagen supplements out there that are much easier on the digestive system AND bioavailable! My favorite are Vital Proteins and Bulletproof’s not only because it’s from pasture-raised cows but also because I can add it to my coffee ☕️ without denaturing the proteins and rendering it completely useless! By the way, you can’t just add any protein powder to hot drinks or food you cook, i.e. protein pancakes! When proteins go above certain temperatures they change shape (think about how egg whites turn from liquid to solid when cooked!) and are no longer used by the body in the same way. The extra versatility of this collagen supplement goes a long way being able to add it to my smoothie, soups, teas, coffee, and even homemade bone broth for an even greater collagen boost!

img_6148
by Nathalie Jolie, via Over

Collagen is a supplements that will help keep your joints healthy and support you through a more active lifestyle and into your older years! Try taking it every day and you'll be thankful you did!


Thank you for reading and commenting!


Check back daily for more #health tips, #naturalremedies, and #nutrition tips you can apply to your life ! You'll optimize your life and will be going Full Steem Ahead in no time!

Sort:  

Thank you @luckypower I hope it was helpful!

I need to start taking this more! Thanks for the post!

Being consistent with it has done wonders for my back pain and other , more aesthetic concerns, like skin health! As a previous severe acne sufferer smooth skin is something I might value more than others! Oh, the teenage years were fun! I have two herniated discs and when I'm consistent with the collagen and krill oil it is like night and day for me. I hope it helps you out too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 67205.80
ETH 3112.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71