MY GYM ROUTINE FOR THE STEEMIT HEALTH CHALLENGE

in #health6 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone, today I would be talking about my daily workout routine, showing pictures and videos of the various workouts I carryout daily while in the gym. To avoid wasting time, let us get straight to it.

1 - CYCLING

IMG_20180801_194504.jpg

Image of the stationary bike I use at my gym

IMG_20180801_192256.jpg

Image of me ridding the stationary bike.

When I get to the gym, the first thing I do is to hit the stationary cycling bike. My reasons are as follows:

  • Cycling helps me to get my heart rate up, gentling conditioning my joints, back, hips, ankles, and knees for the workout session for the day.

  • Since majority of my workout routine involves my legs, cycling helps target my legs, helping to increase blood circulation throughout my legs.

Video of me on the stationary bike

CYCLING STEP BY STEP ROUTINE

I ride the bike for a total of 15mins.

Step 1 - I pedal the stationary bike at a really slow pace for a period of 5 minutes.

Step 2 – I gradually begin to increase my pedaling speed, so that I begin to sweat. I carry out this fast pedaling for the next 7 minutes.

Step 3 - I use the remaining 3 minutes to cool down by cycling at a slower pace, even as I come to the end of my cycling.

2 - TREADMILL

IMG_20180801_194528.jpg

Image of the treadmill

IMG_20180804_193725.jpg

Image of treadmill showing the speed and incline buttons

When am done with cycling, the next thing I do is to use the treadmill. From the image above, you can see that the speed and incline of the treadmill can be adjusted based on who is using the tread mill, whether it be beginner, intermediates, or advanced exercisers.

My reasons for using the treadmill are as follows:

  • It’s a low-impact exercise:

Just like in the case of cycling above, the treadmill is a low-impact workout, one that is also gentle on your body, helping to condition your body for the day’s activities. As you gradually increase the speed, your heart rate begins to increase gradually, giving your body room to get into the exercise for the day.

  • Helps with heart health:

Our hearts are simply muscles, and walking, jogging, or running helps challenge our hearts. When we enhance our heart rates by using the treadmill, it helps improve our cardio capacity, and also our stamina.

  • It helps to burn calories:

Research has shown that a 160-lb. beginner, walking at 2mph on the treadmill, will burn 183 calories per hour. At 3.5mph, she will burn 277 calories. 1

Video of me on the treadmill*

MY TREADMILL STEP-BY-STEP ROUTINE

I use the treadmill for a period of 15 minutes

Step 1 – This is the warmup stage. Here I walk on the treadmill for 5 minutes, setting the speed to 3 and the incline left at zero

Step 2 – Next, I increase the speed to 6 and incline to 2, such that holding up a conversation would be a little bit difficult. I do this for 3 minutes

Step 3 – Next, I increase the speed to 8 and the incline at 4. Here, it’s impossible to hold up any conversation. Am totally focused on the treadmill. I do this for 3 minutes

Step 4 – This is the advanced stage. Here, I set the speed to 10 and the incline to 5. I do this for the next 3 minutes.

Step 5 – I finally use the last minute to slow the treadmill down to a halt, bringing my training session to an end.

3 - BUILDING MY TRICEPS AND BICEPS WITH A TWO-STATION GYM

IMG_20180801_192800.jpg

Image of me on the two-station gym

IMG_20180801_192718.jpg

Image of the yellow pin used to adjust the weight

The next stage of my routine is to train my biceps and triceps. I carry out this training using the two-station gym. If you check the image above, you will find out that with the help of the yellow adjustment tool, the weight can be adjusted, depending on who is working with the two-station gym.

My reasons for using the Two-station gym are as follows:

  • Less prone to injury:

This machine is a very safe one, where you don’t have to worry about the load dropping on the ground and causing any injury

  • Great for beginners:

They are great for starters as most exercises have a definite path of motion, which helps to control your direction.

Video of me using the two-station gym

MY TWO-STATION GYM STEP-BY-STEP ROUTINE

I use the two-station gym for a period of 20 minutes, doing 20 reps per set.

IMG_20180801_192718.jpg

Step 1 – I personally set the weight at 2 slots as shown above, but for beginners, I would advise it set at 1 slot for beginners.

IMG_20180802_200340.jpg

Step 2 – I put my feet on the feet grip as shown in the image above, which helps to make sure the equipment is stable.

IMG_20180802_200403.jpg

Step 3 – Next, I grip the hand grip shown in the image above and then pull the weight towards my waist.

IMG_20180801_192742.jpg

IMG_20180801_192743.jpg
Step 4 – Next, I release the weight to my stomach level, and then take it back to my waist level again.

Step 5 – I carry out 15 reps, for a period of 5 sets. The total time I spend is 20 minutes.

4 - SQUATS

IMG_20180801_195305.jpg

IMG_20180801_194106.jpg

iron bar used to carryout my squats

IMG_20180801_194312.jpg

5kg weight to be put on both sides of the rod

The next stage of my routine is to carry out squats. I carry out the program in two stages, with a bar and then with 5 kg weight on each side of the bar.

My reasons for carrying out squats are as follows:

  • Squats build muscle all over the body:

Squats provide an environment and opportunity for all the areas of the body to grow when trained. Squats don’t only build the legs and thighs, but also the shoulders, abdomen, and other areas of the body.

  • Squats burn more fats:

Squat is a highly efficient way of burning fat. Squats helps to lean up fat in the body.

  • Squats help strengthen your core:

Squats help contract the abdomen which is the core of the body. For those looking for stronger abs, squats help make them stronger.

Video of me squatting with the Iron rod without weight

Video of me squatting with the Iron rod with 5kg weights

MY SQUAT STEP-BY-STEP ROUTINE

I carry out squats for a period of 30 minutes. I carryout 10 reps each over a period of 5 sets. I repeat the process again, but now with 5kg weights on each side. The steps are as follows

IMG_20180801_195250.jpg

Step 1 – I spread my legs, and then grip the rod.

IMG_20180801_195308.jpg

Step 2 – I lift the rod to my shoulder

IMG_20180801_195316.jpg

Step 3 – I then begin to squat down and stand up simultaneously, repeating the cycle for 10 counts.

Step 4 – I rest for a minute between each rep, until I complete 5 sets of 10 reps each.

5 - SHOULDER EXERCISE

IMG_20180801_193356.jpg

IMG_20180802_190844.jpg

Image of the 10kg weights I use for the shoulder exercise.

The final stage of my routine is to carry out shoulder building exercise. I carry out the program with 10kg weights, but I advise 5kg weights for beginners.

My reason for carrying out shoulder exercise is as follows:

  • Shoulder exercises build shoulder muscles:

With this exercise, shoulder muscles are built, hence strengthening the hand at the shoulder level.

Video of me carrying out shoulder exercise

MY SHOULDER BUILDING EXERCISE STEP-BY-STEP ROUTINE

I carry out the shoulder building for a period of 30 minutes. I carryout 10 reps each with the 10kg weights. I repeat this process for 5 sets, resting for 1 minute between each set.

The steps are as follows

IMG_20180801_193456.jpg

Step 1 – I Keep the weight at my jaw level

IMG_20180801_193401.jpg

Step 2 – I lift the weight with my hands stretched upwards. I also twist my wrist as I carry out this process.

Step 3 – I repeat the cycle for 10 counts.

Step 4 – I rest for a minute between each rep, until I complete 5 sets of 10 reps each.

This is where my daily workout routine ends. Hope you had a lovely time. Thanks

banner2.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62423.21
ETH 2897.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56