Quit Smoking Day 1steemCreated with Sketch.

in #health6 years ago (edited)

Today is the first day of no smoking since my last cigarette. I have to be honest. When I've quit in the past it wasn't as easy. Today, simply, I'm out of cigarettes. I know the feeling of wanting to drive to the 7-11 to buy a pack, and trust me, right now I'd love a smoke, but I know that it feels much better once I'm two months down the road with no desire what so ever.

My problem, though, is that two months down the road I have one. Then another. Then I buy a pack. It's usually at a party or somewhere that I take in a few beers and friends step outside. I want to be part of the circle. One doesn't hurt. In general I believe that it really doesn't.

But for me. For me, one means more always. I'm at the end of the game where the last cigarette to fight off is the first and I am determined to stand by it.

Why am I quitting

Smoking prevents me from seeing the beauty in life. The effect it has on my body is subtle but I see it. I'm agitated and my disposition is negative. It's preventing me from gaining out of life the joy that is offered every day that I spend with my children, my future wife and the amazing job I have at my favorite hotel in downtown Napa.

If you're a smoker and want to quit I invite you to join me by simply commenting each day that you have also gone without a cigarette. If you don't want to quit and it doesn't have a negative impact on your life, then god bless you. I'm jealous. I wish I weren't so sensitive to the chemicals that I take in.

Here's to goal number one, 100 days!

Steem On!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60991.61
ETH 2921.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56