My struggles with nasal spray. (Avoid using it at all costs)

in #health5 years ago

Hey steemit!

We all hate stuffy nose at winter. This year I caught a cold at December and decided to buy some (xylometazoline hydrochloride) nasal spray and used it to get relief from stuffy nose.

I didn't expect it to come back and haunt me. After getting well from my illness, I still had a stuffy nose, so I expected it to be just the aftermath of the illness and I bought another bottle of nasal spray. Been buying and using it on and off since December.

It has been 3 days, since I discovered that your nose might developed a dependency on those chemicals. By now I've read many articles and watched a couple of videos about it. There are apparently many people that have been struggling with nasal spray "addiction" for months and even years, spent thousands of dollars on nasal spray.

During those 2 and a half months, I've bought approximately 20 bottles of nasal spray myself, which comes up to ~60 euros. What made me aknowledged that there is a problem? When i started waking up and finding that my nose is/has been bleeding.

I've now decided to cold turkey my addiction to nasal spray, it's 3rd day and it hasn't been easy. Worst times are before you go to sleep and after waking up, but my nose feels less stuffy now and I'm happy that this didn't go further.

Picture of the nasal spray I use(d): 52474342_2346242902287024_3386425114093420544_n.jpg

link to an online article about this issue: https://www.healthline.com/health/nasal-spray-addiction

Thanks for reading and upvoting and make sure you comment!

Sort:  

I, myself is a nasal spray user. And here in our place, it's really expensive so I also that you must not use it every single time.

It sure gets expensive if you use it for a while. Thanks for your reply!

It's ridiculous that doctors prescribe this without giving proper instructions on how to use it! The directions in the box aren't even very clear.

Problem is that it's sold over the counter and even a little kid can buy it. Pharmacists don't mention anything about the bad effects of the sprays :/. Thanks for your reply!

No nasal spray should be used long term. It does more harm than treating. Take chamomile. It can ease your nasal problem.

Posted using Partiko Android

You're right about the long term part. Thanks for the chamomile tip, will try it if the condition gets any worse, but right now I'm using this sea salt water spray twice a day to clear my nose. It isn't as efficient as the chemicals, but offers me some help atleast. Thanks for your reply!

Sea salt water spray is not as effective BUT it can be used long term and safe! Good luck!

Posted using Partiko Android

I think there is different ones available that just content sea salt water, from what I know it doesn’t reduce the swelling that well but helps with clearing your nose.

Maybe next time you catch a cold you could try that.

We really shouldn’t put too many chemicals in our bodies.

Hope you get well soon.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Problem is that the seawater sprays and the natural ones don't seem to work that well, but i got a seawater spray that I'm using at the moment instead of that chemical one. That seems to give me some relief at the moment. Thanks for commenting!

This post has received a 38.86 % upvote from @boomerang.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @mrnormanobot! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine challenge - Love is in the air!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

You've been visited by @riverflows, on behalf of Natural Medicine. Love your work!

Oh, and we'd love it so much if you could nominate us here for the chance of a delegation from the generous @theycallmedan - it'd really help this little community support natural healing wisdoms on Steemit! Kisses and hugs and all things nice!

Consider supporting Natural Medicine through continued use of the #naturalmedicine tag, or delegating any amount through clicking below. We're all for empowerment in natural ways, and love to support those on their healing journey. Come join us on Discord if you're not already there! We'd so love to have you.

My Post 12.jpg
20SPII50SPII100SPII200II500SPII1000SP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61293.86
ETH 2930.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65