You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why You Should Spend More Time Outside

in #health6 years ago

Hello, @lesshorrible, this was quite fascinating and confirms a thought I've always had. Whenever I'm sad or depressed, taking a walk all by myself (as a bit of an introvert), it really does help clear the air. I find better things to think of as I walk.

I live in a city, so it's not everyday one gets to walk by a field of fresh greens. However, whenever I travel to see my folks in the village, (which isn't very often) it's quite soothing to get a whiff of natural air that's not polluted by CO2 from a metropolitan area. Takes at most a day to get settled and comfortable in the new environment, but still, things work out eventually.

So there, I guess I need more "outside time", because frankly, I've not been feeling all that great recently. And I know it's got a lot to do with my extended periods in front of the PC.

Hopefully, more people get to see this, and we find a balance inbetween, because as cool and less-stressful as it all is, so glaring are the risks involved too.

Thanks for writing.

Sort:  

Thank you for your elaborate comment! I have heard about beneficial effects of nature exposure for people who have depression. So maybe this will become part of therapy one day.
Cities are fun but also stressful environments. After having read some papers for my last few posts I think that colors also play a role. I may look into that topic soon.
I hope you feel better soon! Cheers!

Thank you for the reply. About colours, i heard blue is quite calming, and yellow makes one lively. Not completely sure though, so i look forward to your post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62963.68
ETH 3115.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89