Fun run to the store and so many treasures!

in #health6 years ago

Hey everyone! I just wanted to make a quick post about my successful grocery run today. I'm so excited because I scored great items for just $6.47!

If you have a local discount store (not like Walmart) I suggest you stop in and check it out! The one near me is P&R Discounts which is family owned. What makes them great is that they sell a ton of healthy food for extremely cheap! Not kidding! They have a large Gluten Free aisle, always have Soy-Free, Dairy-Free, Organic, etc. items, and this store makes it possible for lower income households to be able to actually afford healthy foods!
Being a discount store the produce needs to be used fairly quickly (but you get a ton of it for cheap), and you need to double check Expiration Dates and Sell By dates as some yogurts and other products might be past their sell by dates. If you're aware of the differences between these then you probably don't have much concern.

Here's what I picked up on my quick trip:
steemit_food (2).jpg

I'm mostly stoked about my pineapple because they're usually $3.99, but mine was only $1.49! I don't even see them that cheap when stores have their "lowest prices guaranteed" sales. So I also got:
~Organic green beans and carrots for $0.79ea for a recipe that I'll share another time
~Organic Cold Brew Coffee made with Almond milk, it's soy-free and dairy-free and full of protein, but hardly any sugar! (I don't have anything against Soy or Dairy but I was excited it was only $0.79 and very limited sugar!)
~Organic Kefir milk $0.99 which is usually closer to $3.99 in supermarkets. It is higher in sugar since it's flavored but I mostly got it to add to smoothies which I will also post later.
~Mom & Pop Pierogis, not the healthiest but so delicious! I'm Polish, I can't help it. All in moderation

All in all I would have paid $18.75 so I saved $12.28! Wow! OK, maybe not a big deal to some, but I'm loving it! Have you ever gotten to the register, heard your total and think, "What in the world did I buy?!"?
I feel like the what I paid is what prices SHOULD be normally.

Thanks for checking my post about my quick and cheap grocery run. I have a lot of plans for my purchases which I'll post about later, and I encourage you all to check out your areas for a discount store like this, they're so helpful!

Sort:  

I love p&r. I buy my Greek yogurt from them at 5 for $0.99. I saw the same brand on sale at the regular grocery store at $1 each yesterday

Yes I try to get yogurt but it's a lot of soy or coconut milk varieties when I get there, which I'll pass. The Cold Brew coffee drink with almond milk was not that great, but it was different and new, plus I rather try it at $0.79 than the original $2.99!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65229.52
ETH 2946.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67