My Introduction to Steemit - Emergency Retirement

in #health6 years ago (edited)

Hi All!

Just wanted to introduce myself. My name is Que (pronounced just like the letter “Q”), and I am trying my best to live with a terminal illness.

I was diagnosed about six months ago with Scleroderma – an auto immune disease which makes your body turn against itself. In my case the Scleroderma has attacked my heart causing Congestive Heart Failure, it attacked my lungs causing Pulmonary Hypertension, and attacked my kidneys with some residual kidney disease.

With all of that going on I am still able (for now) to gather up my strength every day and continue to go to my desk job – because I have to. (How else would I pay my bills?) I am not married and have no children, so there is no one out there who is going to volunteer to pay my rent and buy groceries for me, and the medicines that I am taking pretty much keep the symptoms at bay enough for me to make it thru the day at work.

I can tell that this will come to an end at some point though, as every day I can feel that my energy level is dropping more and more making the simplest of tasks (like grocery shopping or tending to my garden) increasingly difficult, meaning that I will eventually have to stop working. I always thought it would be nice to retire at age 53 – but imagined that it would be to spend my days on a beach in Hawaii, not on my bed at home watching TV with my 2 cats.

So this is the reason that I am now on Steemit. I actually opened the Steemit account about 7 months ago when I first started getting introduced to crypto currencies, but I couldn’t think of what to write about back then. Now, finally, I think I have something to write about. (Remember that old saying? “Be careful what you wish for - you must might get it”).

I think that others who are relatively young to middle aged and not yet thinking about retiring might find it interesting to follow someone in their relatively same situation but who needs to all of a sudden begin to make plans to retire within the next 6-12 months. Could you afford it? Would you have to change to way that you live? Will it be enough? What if it’s not?

All of that is what I plan to explore here. As my medical condition is thankfully stable at the moment, my first order of business (and my next Steemit post) will be to look into the requirements for disability income and gather all of that paperwork together. I understand that applying can be a long daunting process, so I guess the sooner that I get started, the better.

If any of you think that you might one day find yourself in a similar situation, follow along with me.

Together, we are going to figure this thing out and live out our days in peace.

Sort:  

Hello que2! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Hello friend. Welcome aboard

Welcome to Steem, @que2!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3119 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.18.2 : Post and Support.

Hi Que,

This is a lovely introductory post, Thank you for taking the time to write the post and say hello to the community!

I am here to help!

I would encourage you to keep posting and comment on others users content to help make a name for yourself and to get the most out of the platform! Feel free to comment on my content and I'll up vote your comments! Drop me a follow so you can comment a lot and get a lot of my upvotes!

I have upvoted your post!

Luppers :)

Thanks Luppers!

I am just now figuring out how this all works -seems to be a lot more to it than just posting. I wish you good success with your endeavors also!

Thank you, Que, for the kind words!

There's so much to the platform and i'm happy to help you along the way!

If you continue to engage and provide detailed and positive comments about my content I will continue to upvote your comments, so that you can gain SBD!

I have upvoted your comment!

Luppers

i think you will be best and will do any think you want , have nice time every time :)

Thank you! and you also enjoy the journey :)

Welcome to Steem! Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem and we upvote our users to help them grow! Please feel free to download the Android app here and the iOS app here.

To get more upvotes, please join our Discord server here: https://discord.gg/N7Et97G

Hey @que2. Welcome to steemit! Hope you'll like being here :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66167.71
ETH 3014.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73