Mini Juice & Water Fast

in #health5 years ago

For a while now, I've been getting the sense that I need to do a water fast.

I've never done one before, but been hearing about multiple people around me doing it.

But the idea of a 3 day water fast (the typical length of time for a water fast) did seem a bit extreme to me, so I've been putting it off for ages.

I mentioned the idea to my Chiropractor, who gave me the idea "why not just start with 1 day?"


So yesterday, I had breakfast before setting off to @ultravioletmag's to get some work done.

I then suddenly realized that it was the perfect time for me to do a 24 hr fast, because I wouldn't be home all day, so it would be easier.

I also decided I wouldn't just do water, and would also have cold pressed fruit/veg juice, so I would at least have some nutrients that day.

Sarah made us a big fat jug of carrot, celery and ginger juice, which lasted me all day.

Source


I felt hunger at certain times, but it went away quickly after having more veg juice or water.

Even the next day, after 24hrs of nothing other than veg juice and water, I wasn't that hungry, and felt like I could have kept going.

So now I know I can definitely try for longer next time!

Have you ever done any extensive fasts? Let me know :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Have you ever done any extensive fasts? Let me know :)

I did a water fast for 96 hours a month or two ago (I made a series of posts each day about it). It was an ok experience except for the negative effect it had on my sleep. I'm not sure if it's just a matter of adjustment - ketogenic diet tends to have the same symptom, too, when starting - but I'll probably stay in my typical intermittent fasting to reap the health benefits but still have a good night sleep.

Definitely try a pure water fast the next time as the biggest benefits come when you go with zero calories when the body's survival mechanisms really kick in: increased human growth hormone (muscle growth) and increased neurogenesis (creation of new brain cells) for example. It's kinda mind blowing the stuff fasting does. Oh, also it increases insulin sensitivity, helps to prevent diabetes.

Nutrients and electrolytes are a worry only if you do something like a week+ long water fasts.

Oh wow.. 96 hr+ is intense, I need to look for your posts. Interesting that it affected your sleep, that would be annoying for me, considering I usually only sleep 6 hrs as it is.

Yea I definitely will go just water next time, but for 24hrs to test first. It's tricky for me, I wonder if it's too much to ask of my body, because of my parental responsibilities. I'm really active with the kids. But I do just need to pick the best time in my schedule, where we may not need to be out much. I definitely want to see how my body feels after at least a 72 hr water fast.

I've been hearing about a few people doing dry fasts too lately. Have you ever considered that? Not encouraging, just wondering what your thoughts are!

Posted using Partiko Android

I've been hearing about a few people doing dry fasts too lately. Have you ever considered that? Not encouraging, just wondering what your thoughts are!

Dry fast sounds, well... dry. I don't have much to add other than I prefer to drink water.

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha yea.. it's extreme, but I'm somehow still curious about it

Is this juice is really tasty??😊😊

Because ut is hard to drink healthy juice it's so difficult to accepted taste

Posted using Partiko Android

If it's more carrot than celery and ginger, then yes! It tastes great :)

If you add apple, you might find it even easier to drink!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97