Benefits of Green Tea

in #health6 years ago (edited)

CA3C4B53-EA75-4D16-A6B1-4E6142ED18E3.jpeg

I am a coffee lover for sure, but I cannot deny the great benefits of green tea. While I cannot start the day without hearing the sound of the coffee machine, smelling the coffee pads and tasting the sweet black nectar, I am well aware that too much coffee (yes, that is possible!) is not healthy not good for productivity. So I end up drinking actually one mug of coffee per day (max 2 if I pass by the coffee shop on my way to work) – and that is it. The rest of the day I drink water and green tea.

I became interested in the benefits of green tea when I was on tumblr some years ago. I was looking at fitness and health related posts and I kept on stumbling on plenty of cute images of green tea and its benefits. I thought – there must be something about it, should give it a try. And I did! I even tried one month without coffee (not even in the morning), but drinking 3 cups of green tea per day. I honestly did not see any difference and I was feeling great. I am still sticking to my morning coffee mug – it is more of a ritual for my soul than a necessity.

909A154D-4DC0-49A4-A929-CC6792BFD3A7.jpeg

The green tea is known for boosting metabolism, keeping you healthy and helps in living a long healthy life (just look at the Japanese, they are all about that green tea!). Besides making me feel as if I were in a Japanese zen garden overlooking the beautiful Kyoto, there are other benefits of drinking green tea:

  1. It helps burn calories. Yes, you hear that. Drinking 2-3 cups of green tea can help you burn up to 100 calories. Now think how many calories would be in that giant Caramel Macchiato from Starbucks, with chocolate sprinkles and cream on top…
  2. It contains anti-oxidants. Studies have shown that drinking at least 1 cup of green tea per day can reduce the risk of cancer. It can delay the development of Parkinson’s disease by protecting the cells.
  3. It manages levels of cholesterol in the blood, improving the ratio of good cholesterol to bad cholesterol.
  4. It improves your metabolism and keeps you hydrated, which in time will have a beneficial effect on your skin.
  5. It still contains caffeine, but in lower quantities than in coffee. It can still keep you alert but not go into overdrive.
  6. It can lower the risk of dental infections by inhibiting the growth of bacteria, and thus improving general dental health.

Every time you are feeling unproductive after lunch (it’s usually at that time), how about grabbing a cup of green tea? It will feel less heavy on your stomach, you will not be overworked from the caffeine and you are staying hydrated. And your body will thank you for the long term effects.

When will you start drinking your 3 cups of green tea per day?

Sort:  

Good morning. Interesting read, reminds me again that actually I am drinking way to much coffee instead, which I managed to reduce a while ago and slowly went up again to 7-8 cups a day. Have a good day. Greetings from Phuket

I love coffe and if I the coffee machine at work made beter coffee, I would have more too 😂 if you like green tea, maybe you can alternate the cups between coffee and tea ☺️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67