How to Yoga - Seated Forward Fold

in #health8 years ago

Good day, Steemians!

There is a saying in Buddhism:
Meditate for 20 minutes a day,
unless you don't have time -
then you should meditate for an hour.

Yoga is the same for me;
if I don't have time,
I make the time.
For me, life is way better
when I do yoga than when I don't do yoga;
the time resource investment is worth it,
because I reap massive rewards
in the health and peace of my being.
Ultimately, yoga is a life hack that improves everything,
and luckily I know lots of yoga hacks for highest impact
in shortest time.
I share my wealth of yoga knowledge on my beloved Steemit
in hopes that your life is greatly improved by it!

This is Seated Forward Fold

AKA Intense Dorsal Stretch

AKA Paschimottanasana A in Sanskrit

(paschim = west, uttana = intense stretch, asana = pose/posture)


Seated forward fold does WORK.


In the western world, there is a prevalent mindset of lack:
not enough time, not enough money, not enough energy.
It's a very limited approach to life,
and if that's your perspective,
you will never have enough.
We become anxious when it seems our needs will not be met,
and we posture for competition and conflict from that ego-centrism.

Seated forward fold is a hack to let that all go.

You can sit, right?
You're probably doing it at the computer right now.
You can sit on the floor and reach for your toes
for just a few seconds.
Simple enough,
but in doing so you're stimulating your kidneys and liver,
giving your body a fighting chance to clean up your system.

You're calming the mind, relieving the flood
of chemicals that damage tissues when you stress and worry.

You're improving digestion, so your body
can best assimilate the nutrients you give it.

You're activating the solar plexus chakra (manipura),
the seat of "I can" mentality in the body.

Plus it's super tasty for the spine, hamstrings, and shoulders.

You have time for that, right?

How to SEATED FORWARD FOLD:

  • From seated, extend the legs.
  • Flex the feet; engage the back of the legs.
  • Extend in the upper body, rolling the shoulders open and down the back and lengthening through the crown of the head.
  • Draw the navel in towards the spine, noticing the space that is created in the abdomen by doing so.
  • With an exhale, fold forward from the hip creases and reach for the toes.
  • It really doesn't matter where your hands come, whether it's to the knees or the ankles or around the feet--the benefits of the stretch are still realized.

Breathe in, breathe out.

Breathe in, breathe out.

Breathe in, breathe out.

"Yoga adds years to your life and life to your years." --Alan Finger



💛 Sara!
Thank you to the ever lovely @everlove for the lovely photo
We can make custom Steemit Ts or pants fit for a king!

>:<>:<>:<

I will teach yoga at STEEMFEST! I kindly request upvotes, resteeming, tweeting, and Facebook sharing of my daily yoga posts to generate SBD so I can procure a plane ticket to Amsterdam!

Thank you for the support, encouragement, and assistance you have given me towards this goal, Steemit - I am grateful and inspired!

Sort:  

Go, Sara! Yoga is mega helpful, may all who see it help you get to Amsterdam to share it with this community!!!

As you have been living, eating the breathing Steemit--you definitely ought to be in Amsterdam. I hope this Steemit community supports your adventure. You have definitely been in support of Steemit. And your yoga contribution is AWESOME!!

To teach yoga or meditation is the best way to help people.

There is great benefit to this practice!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66256.11
ETH 3036.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73