When will I learn?

in #health5 years ago

It's always after I recover from unwellness that it becomes clear to me how sick I was. I've been having more headaches/migraines - I had one overnight that faded this afternoon. cat migraine

Although I could barely hold a thought in my head, I was stumbling around forcing myself to "work", since it "had to be done", because surrendering and doing something as radical as lying down because of a "mere headache" was a "waste of time". I wasn't really "sick".

Then when the blinding brainstorm fades, it becomes apparent how much of a waste of time trying to push through really was. My "work" was painfully and poorly done, and done poorly at an immense energetic cost, when, once feeling better, it could all be done faster with less effort.

Somehow I always manage to forget that when I'm not sick, I have energy and feel like doing things (they go together!). Instead, it's like I believe that if I give in, once, to not feeling well, I'll never again have the drive to get out of bed!

Sort:  

Awww. Sometimes it can be so hard to play the long game and rest when needed when there are other things that have to be done (and other times too easy), right? I think a lot of people constantly fall into the trap of pushing through and working when they're only at 10% productivity, rather than taking the time to sleep and recharge the power bar to wake up and complete the tasks that much better after. It's a hard argument to make with oneself, to raise the white flag under the pressure of the to-do list.

Sorry I've missed your blog lately! Haven't been active in a while. :(

Are you better at this?

I don't know. Maybe? Probably just less motivated in the first place. :(

I ran across this too late to upvote. I know exactly what you mean, because I do the same thing: forcing myself to get things done, thinking I will never feel well again. I don't have migraines, but I have other issues that keep me off my feet for a while now and then.

Congratulations @selka! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61619.35
ETH 3001.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64