EMOTIONAL OR EVIDENCE BASED TREATMENTS, WHAT DO YOU THINK?

in #health7 years ago

PROVIDENCE.gif

OPIOID CRISIS

steemit header.gif
I Live in Vancouver, East side. The drug problem here is at epidemic proportions. I look out my window at day or night and I see people doing drugs non-stop. Its not just the fact that people do drugs. I believe we should have ultimate freedom over what we do with ourselves as long as it doesn't harm others. What eats me up is the fact that the drugs that are out on the street being sold are full of poison and people are dying at a rate of 4-5 people a day here alone. Yet the government in all its false promises and moral platitudes does nothing. These people are someones brother, sister, mother, father, son and daughters. They are dying. In fact more people died last year in my province than all the Canadian soldiers that have died since 1991. In a single year!!

COST TO THE SYSTEM

steemit header.gif
The annual cost of one drug addict to the mental and health system is somewhere around 50-60,000$ which is staggering. Add up infections, poor diet, impurities in the drugs that cause major stays in our hospitals. Things like endocarditis, staff infections plus a myriad of other infections due to the cut that these drug dealers put in there drugs to make more money off them. In fact I remember hearing a story that proved true that drugs dealer were using chicken growth hormone because of its identical looking qualities to speed/meth. The cost of emergency visits, overdoses, coroner services, etc. It is rediculously expensive to keep addicts using drugs provided by these parasites that prey on someones disease.
steemit header.gif

EVIDENCE BASED TREATMENTS

steemit header.gif
It is already proven though the study (salome) and (naomi) before it that if you take addicts hooked to heroin and provide them with a clean supply of pharmaceutical grade medications that almost all the costs associated with using drugs on the street bought from street dealers. check out the study {http://www.providencehealthcare.org/salome/) this link can provide you with far more information about this form of evidence based treatments. The fact is that this population is highly prejudiced against by most of society stating"its a moral/ willpower problem". I can assure you it is not. Who would seriously choose a life of addiction over a life of choice and having a place to live, food to eat, clothing that is appropriate for the conditions. The governments of the world need to stop virtue posturing and actually tackle this peoblem with more than handcuffs and complete abstinence. The running success rate of AA is 5-8%, that is horrible. that is not a success. We need to be more progressive in our approach, like the saying goes "an ounce of prevention, is worth a pound of cure"

This is just one of many issues that burn me but this one is especially brutal. We need to get off out perverbial high Horse and start acting like a family of humans that deeply care for each other.

God Bless you all.steemit header.gif
end of post steemit.gif
Repost of property of Steve Black

Sort:  

I know that.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @steveblack to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Loading...

The death comparison statistic is astounding that more addicts die in one year than all the Canadian soldiers since 1991 combined. The sad truth here in the US is that government isn't interested in solving issues and problems, they are interested only in talking, investigating, and kicking the can down the road for someone else to deal with in the future. Sounds like Canada may be the same with dealing with issues.
Thanks for sharing this information,
@sultnpapper

No problem my friend. Thank you for your comment @sultnpapper. It seems though as of the last week the current NDP government is starting to go with evidence based therapies. It is totally insane that over 100 people a month die in this city form opioid overdoses.
Cheers!

Yes, here in the US they advertised the hell out of them on TV, "tell your doctor you want xxxxxx , for pain" then they want to know why there is an epidemic. Insanity abounds in government.

ohh man @sultnpapper you would not believe the documetary I saw on the inventors of oxycontin. Worth a look, it goes into the most ecrective family in the forbes rich list who created these little demon pills. 100% reccomend that doc. If you punch in dowcumentary on the family behind oxycontin. It will blow you mind, and hey!! if you are inclined I am sure it would make a great post, get some value out of it.
Kind regards,
Cheers!

Thanks for the recommended reading, I'll look at it and see.

In the U.S., something like this will slam up against a wall that is nearly impossible to overcome- the menacing duo: DEA & FDA. They have a staunchly conservative following whose perceptions are controlled by the spokesmen of these agencies and the media, so they rely on propoganda to both please the mainstream sheep as well as to reinforce it. This is their "responsibility". There is a very simple, inexpensive and incredibly safe solution for those who are motivated to get off of both street drugs, prescription painkillers, harmful antidepressants, to survive sudden refusal of doctors refilling pain meds due to threats by the DEA/FDA or any other menacing force. It's hard to believe that it would prevent opioid withdrawl but it does. Also a far more effective analgesic and antiinflammatory than OTC medications of any kind. Withdrawl only occurs with excessive daily use over months of time and then - it is mild, accd. to all reports from users (who are not tobe trusted, right?) When I was taking effexor for depression and went out of town to visit family, I left my medication behind on accident. Result: psychotic episode. First and last one. Emergency fill of just 5 doses was over 300.00. It ruined the last time I was with family in the house I grew up in and it permanently damaged our relationships. I have since taken to self mediating over medical treatment whenever possible and I'm better for it. Last July, pain in my lower back erupted ten years after the original injury. I couldn't stand five seconds without burning pain running down my leg so bad I was crying out loud. I was stuck and could not go to the ER as directed but did not qualify for an ambulance so I neglected my life, stuck in bed for four days (it was 12 days last time) until my order for kratom arrived. I cried just going to the mailbox. 45min after drinking water with kratom I was having coffee. I then walked five city blocks uphill to get grocieries and carried the back. After a few days of moderate dosing I stopped and realized my depression was non-existant. I felt healthy. I was a nice person again. No 6 week ramping up with god knows what misery would await me next, as with anti depressants. No hard core side effects. No more worries about chronic inflammation. That's taken care of now while I work to improve my diet. I chose to resume low dosing kratom 4 to 5 days a week 1X. Somebody experiences pleasure using this- so what? They over use- that corrects itself. It doesn't kill although the FDA is trying to broadcast lies saying that it does. I know the cases they refer to and it's a very different s story. With this recent experience- I bacame aware of just how deceiving the govt. agencies are and what they will resort to, to trick the public and force their control accd. to their ulterior motives (partnerships with pharma, supervised drugging and monetizing addicts whom may never escape their grip) This herb has been used in Malaysia for both labor-endurance, relaxation and opium addiction withdrawl. (became illegal when opium tax revenue started cutting into govt budget) Kratom is the only safe solution for withdrawal for those motivated to quit opioids. I'm stocking up as the US govt is chomping at the bit to violate the freedom of people making their own choices about their health. Medical care has failed many ,many people and too often rapes people of their ability to problem solve. I still consult with my physician but I don't fill every Rx, rather I tell him I'll fix it. When I return four months later for follow up, I have resolved everything from high blood pressure, ITP (chronic and serious low blood platelet count), and maintaining normal cholestorol. THE SOLUTIONS ARE WITHIN REACH if you take responsibility for your own health and stop RELYING on insurance, government and established industries. These will lobby to steal your God given ability and resourcefulness. Kratom is good herbal medicine and the risk of abuse is arbitrary compared to all the sh t that's out there that pompous, cavalier govt agencies want you to believe are saving you from. They're not and they never will. Do your own research. Use many sources to realize the truth and get what you need before they stop you and criminalize the few or only hopes that we have in this world today.

WOW! Great comment. Thank you so much @dougbudlong! I have heard of Kratom, they were giving away samples last week at the street market downtown. I just kinda passed on by, and didn't put much though into it. due, to the fact I am still an in-patient to a residential tx centre and have been now for almost 11 months now. I will definately look into this a little further because you can buy it all over the place here.
Cheers!!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by steveblack from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

It is a lot of work and unbelievable true.

This post has received a 0.45 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70853.78
ETH 3811.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43