You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My diabetes story - Part 5: Lifestyle Change

in #health7 years ago

Very well written! I think you are getting a good grasp on nutrition, and most importantly, taking charge of this serious but very manageable disease. I remember all these thoughts going through my mind when I was diagnosed with Type I....

As a senior in medical school, one of my biggest passions is helping those with diabetes. I think posts like this will help those who struggle with what to eat. I think you are going in the right direction. I don't necessarily think you need to fast, and complex carbohydrates would still be acceptable in moderation.

Excess sugar will become fat. So one could eat only carbs and no fat and be very overweight. You are correct, in that high cholesterol food is not believed to raise bad cholesterol anymore. However, eating any fat whether monounsaturated, polyunsaturated, or saturated still has many calories. I would also stay well hydrated because protein diets can cause ketosis, and if your high sugar began to cause your body to make more ketones, it could cause a bad condition called ketoacidosis (usually only seen in Type I diabetes).

I wrote on your first 1st or second post on diabetes and was trying to share with you the pathophysiology of type II diabetes. I wrote those two posts about 3 months ago, and feel that they would be very beneficial for you as you go through these changes. By no means am I asking you to upvote them haha. My number one mission is proper education.

Thanks again for a great post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 68781.96
ETH 3736.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73