You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Am An Unvaccinated 17 Year Old: I Do Not Believe In Herd Immunity And This Is Why!

in #health6 years ago

You made a huge mistake there...

I will give you another answer you can add to @jockeys list. Let's just stick with Australia as an example.

In 2015 Australia's population was 24 million people and Australia received 7.4 million visitors that same year.

Ok, if you just do poor calculation, 23% of all people there are tourist.

But guess what, you forgot the most important point --> tourists don't stay there forever. Never will there be 7.4 million at the same time.

Let's just assume that all people stay for a month and that there is no holiday season.

That would make 7,4/12 --> 0,6 million people per month.

Now we dont have 23% of all the people being tourists --> we are down to about 2%.

Yes, I know, there are tourist seasons with higher amounts of people. But there are vaccinated tourists as well. And most of them actually will stay far less than four weeks.

So what do you say to this?

Sort:  

The thing is, if you do just a poor calculation like above, you should also calculate the illegal immigrants that come in on a tourist visa and end up staying for a long long time (some forever). Now I don't know exactly what the number is for Australia, but from my time in Japan I know that for Tokyo for instance, with a population of roughly 9 million in 2015, there were also a couple of million (yes, for sure)illegal immigrants there. OK, some of these would be from Western countries like I was, but most would have come from countries like the Philippines, India, Pakistan etc. and most likely large numbers of those would not be vaccinated. I'd say the same is true for Australia, large numbers coming in every year from those countries where people aren't vaccinated. So if you make any calculations, you'd have to calculate these in as well....

I have just made a post here about this, please check it out for more detail: https://steemit.com/health/@theaustrianguy/a-response-to-chron-why-you-should-believe-in-herd-immunity

Now I don't know exactly what the number is for Australia

Well, I don't as well. So its kind of hard to calculate with them if you don't have them ;)

Well, in the time I was in Tokyo, the official population in the city was around 8 million. After spending some time there and listening to people around me, as well as the visible signs (you could see it when someone wasn't Japanese for instance) there was enough proof that there were anywhere between 2 to 4 million illegal immigrants in Tokyo alone. That's 25% to 50% of the total population. It's hard to know what those numbers would be in Australia, unless we have the exact records of what comes in and what goes out. (immigration records would help, something I'd be willing to look into). I am now reading your post and you will most likely hear from me.

Let me know what you find @misslasvegas 👍

You can watch our dialoge (between me and mlv) on my post as an example of good dsicussion culture ;) Maybe you can learn sth. there as well...

@theaustrianguy: from my experience with you, I feel that you're one of 'the good guys'. Meaning: I still have hope for the medical profession as a whole. And at the same time, I am almost sure that when you finish your study, and start as a doctor, that you will have experiences that will teach you that everything is not as black and white as any of us think. I just hope you'll stay on the 'good side.' That's why I hope you will stay in touch so we can follow you in whatever work you will do in the future.

I responded under your post and have edited my post

Capture.JPG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69849.38
ETH 3709.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73