You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dear Diary: I Am Longing For A Productive Garden To Keep

in #health5 years ago

If you have a little space but are concerned about the soil quality, you might want to look into aquaponics. Basically it's where you have some growing containers that are elevated filled with small rocks (smooth or volcanic like is used for landscaping) and a low container with some goldfish or larger species if you are interested in eating them. Then you can just get a small water pump that takes the water from the fish to the highest container and it gravity feeds back through all the plants back to the fish. The fish provide nutrients to the plants, and the plants and rocks filter the water keeping the fish healthy and happy! I used to run a small system and it was surprising how well it worked.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

That is a good idea @theb0red1 but the small lot that I have here at the back of the house doesn't give much sunshine so I have to give that into consideration. My brother is what I learned doing aquaponics and I will have to ask him about that project of his.

Yes that is something to take into consideration. My small system that I had was pretty small, about 3'x6' and was in shade for about half the day. I grew tomatoes, eggplant, okra, and a couple other veggies I can't remember right now. Some did better than others because of the shade issue but it was still a fun project!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.36
ETH 3076.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81