Coloring for Clarity- Mindfulness while Making Art

in #health6 years ago

IMG_20180213_120411129_HDR.jpg

My brain can be a scum bag. I know that it is an incredible organ that is capable of making instant choices that are intended to help keep me alive in a predatory world...and that's kind of the root of this beef. The evolutionary process selected the creatures that did the best job surviving until they could have sex, and to do so, animals have to manage many different risks to achieve rewards. To be able to avoid being hunted, our brains will alert us to an unexpected sound or movement and will flood our bodies with chemicals that get us ready for standing our ground, or for escaping the threat. Human brains have adapted to let a lower level of thinking manage these impulses, so that we may consider more complex relationships with our surroundings and one another. It is when these automatic brain patterns go unchecked that a brain has the "scum bag" window.

The brain continues to take in and analyze information, but depending on the type and the depth of interaction, the brain can get stuck in loops. When they thought loops contain negative emotions, they can lead to depression; when these loops contain avoidance or longing, they can lead to anxieties. Novel or comfortable stimuli can be used to distract from meaningful reflection and growth. The triggers and manifestations remain extremely personal, but modern culture is plagued by mental trauma and it can be self-inflicted.

The beauty of the brain is it's plasticity, or ability to be shaped; we have the power to rewire and reroute emotions and energies to work toward our goals and passions. But it ain't easy. By using our highest level of conciousness, our metacognition, or thinking about thinking, we can identify the loops that are present. To observe how we consider our existence and use emotions/actions, without judgement, is a practice called mindfulness.

Mindfulness is not about perfection, but when utilized consistently, it has great potential for aligning daily life with the longer-term goals we work toward. With mindfulness, I have had success with increasing my own happiness and quality of life, per my own value compass. I am ending self-inflicted physical and emotional harm that has been ongoing since a "people-pleasing" childhood and am finally embracing what it means to be me and sharing with others.

IMG_20180213_115921198.jpg

Introducing my #ColoringForClarity project

So what does mindfulness and coloring have in common? Neuroscience has discovered a transformative ability of using coloring pages to break free from a "fight or flight", highly reactive mindset to achieve a calmer, more analytical approach that allows for a more focused approach that considers long-term goals. Using "peak performance neuroscientist" Dr. Stan Rodski's brain-science book, the #coloringforclarity project will become an exploration of meditation and art mediums with a goal to inspire creativity and discovery.

IMG_20180213_120001228_HDR.jpg

Peppered with discussion on the science that supports these practices, this coloring book for adults has been a valuable tool for my personal growth and allowed me to share with patients to which I provide cognitive rehabilitation.
IMG_20180214_101811424_HDR.jpg

My first entry is a title page to one of three sections of this particular book and I believe a great call to action for someone like myself, that lets anxieties grow from benign sources when left unchecked.

IMG_20180510_114048866.jpg

I love the negative space that is built into this page, but I created my own textures and depth by adding even more into my design. I wanted to create a balance of more organic shapes hidden within a geometric framework. I'd love to hear any impressions or thoughts about the piece!

IMG_20180510_121211262.jpg

What design shall I color next?

The only drawback I have found with this particular book is the fact that designs are printed on both sides, limiting the ability to complete a design using any medium that bleeds through or changes the surface of the back of the page. To decide which design makes the project, I want some community participation in selection of the next piece.

Collage 2018-05-10 13_54_20.jpg

Leave a comment on what design you would like to see in the next post. I will be attempting to change my media throughout this project and will be making my rounds in the art community to attempt to pick up some new ideas and techniques so feel free to resteem or tag artists for more diverse contributions!

And remember, the STEEM work makes the dream work!

Sort:  

I'm late for this post, but I'm looking forward to the next part :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69512.95
ETH 3883.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73