You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mighty Mighty Boosh: Green Tea Kombucha with 🌶Jalepenos & Lime🍈

in #health6 years ago

I make kombucha at home. My favorite flavor combination is blueberry + rose hip + ginger + lavender... so good! My husband is pretty sensitive to caffeine, so I make my kombucha with herbal tea.

Jalapeno-lime sounds interesting! I can't imagine the taste though. I guess I will just have to give it a try sometimes! Love kombucha

Sort:  

I've never done a lavender one, but I really want to try! And - wow - rosehip!! That sounds great - I know rosehip makes a kick-butt country wine, so I'd love to try it. I don't grow roses, and there's a wild one on a fenceline I usually harvest from but someone cut it out!! I was so disappointed.

What herbal tea do you use? Does the scoby handle it okay?

I have been experimenting with different herbal teas, such as comfrey, nettle, lemon balm, hibiscus, raspberry leaf ... I should probably do a post on this sometimes to share what I have learned. SCOBY does not like all herbal teas, so some of my experiments failed and poor SCOBY died, but I learned which ones it does not like.

Hello! Nice to see you on this thread. Question, have you tried peppermint/spearmint for the tea?

I'm curious. I think I'd like a minty kombucha. I think I have a few scoby to sacrifice for an experiment.

We should totally start a kombucha group on steemit. For some reason, I did not think there were people loving kombucha here.

Peppermint and spearmint herbal tea have too much volatile oils, so your SCOBY will die. However, if you like the minty flavor, try adding a few fresh mint leaves when you bottle for 2nd ferment. I have tried this and it adds a perfect amount of mint flavor for Summer time booch.

Thanks for the info! I will definitely do this for my next batch!

I made a post about how to make kombucha with herbal tea today. I also included the failed experiments to avoid. Come check it out when you have time. Would love to see what you think. https://steemit.com/homesteading/@thelaundrylady/kombucha-brewed-with-lemon-balm-herbal-tea-no-caffeine

I'd love for you to share a post on it, and would undoubtedly give you my 100 percent upvote. There is a lot of informaiton on the net about making a standard kombucha but not a lot of helpful stuff about boosh with herbal teas.

I feel like I need a whole cupboard just for boosh experiments!

You got it. I will tag you when I make the post. It's cool to find people on steemit who also like kombucha! I never thought about making a post on kombucha making. Thanks for the idea!

I know, it's funny - the things that become ordinary for you, like bread or soup or kombucha, can be amazing for other people who have never heard of these things and would love to make them, or also feel enthused. Plus, I've now got all these cool ideas and flavours I hadn't thought of!

I finally made the post on how to make kombucha with herbal tea today. Come check it out when you have time and let me know what you think. https://steemit.com/homesteading/@thelaundrylady/kombucha-brewed-with-lemon-balm-herbal-tea-no-caffeine

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63759.51
ETH 3318.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91